Johns Hopkins Gazette: April 15, 1996


     Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of
consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some
promotions and new hires.
     We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by
a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity
and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be
published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards and appointments

Arts and Sciences
     Political science professor Joseph Cooper was elected
president of the National Capital Area Political Science
Association at their spring conference March 9.

Central Administration
     Mary Blair, executive director for the university's
Divisional and Regional Programs, has been elected to the board
of directors of Baltimore Reads Inc., a nonprofit organization
that provides technical and financial assistance to a citywide
network of adult literacy programs and providers.
     Milton S. Eisenhower Library Sheridan Director Jim Neal was
elected by the American Library Association Council to serve on
the ALA Executive Board at the association's midwinter meeting
held in January.

Continuing Studies
     The School of Continuing Studies received two marketing
communications awards in the 1996 National University Continuing
Education Association Marketing and Promotions Awards
Competition. The Division of Liberal Arts brochure and radio 
advertisements highlighting the school's business programs each
won a silver medal in the competition.

Special note:  
     Elmore Alexander has been appointed associate dean and
director of the Division of Business and Management in the School
of Continuing Studies. Prior to joining Hopkins, Alexander was
associate dean for graduate affairs in the Kogod College of
Business Administration at American University, where he has been
a professor of management since 1989. 

Homewood Student Affairs
     Sophomore swimmer Matt Johnson earned All-America honors in
four relays and three individual events at the NCAA Division III
Swimming and Diving Championships. Johnson won the 100-yard
butterfly for the second consecutive year, this time in 48.67
seconds, breaking the NCAA Division III record.
     Sophomore swimmer Rocio Lopez won a national championship in
the women's 100-yard butterfly and earned All-America honors in
the 200-yard butterfly at the same event.

     Jason Brandt, professor of psychiatry and behavioral
sciences and director of the Division of Medical Psychology,
received the Arthur Benton Award from the International
Neuropsychological Society at its 1996 annual meeting. The award
recognizes scientific and professional achievement in the field
of neuropsychology.
     Susan Friedman has been named a 1996 Pfizer/AGS Postdoctoral
Fellow in support of her research project titled "Formalizing
Risk Prediction of Falls: A Next Step in Fall Prevention." The
two-year fellowship will provide $40,000 per year.
     Departing dean Michael Johns received a resolution from the
Maryland Senate in appreciation for his years of service to the
citizens of Maryland on March 28. After the unanimous vote of 47
senators, President Thomas V. "Mike" Miller thanked Johns for his
leadership in health-care issues and wished him well at his new
position as executive vice president of the Emory University
Health System in Atlanta, Ga.
     Mark Richardson, a pediatric specialist in reconstructive
airway surgery and head and neck surgery, has been appointed to
the John E. Bordley Professorship in the Department of
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the School of Medicine.
Deputy director of the department, Richardson has pioneered the
use of automated heart-lung equipment that allows respiratory
organs to heal after tracheal reconstruction for newborns.

     Associate dean Maryann Fralic, vice president for Nursing at
the hospital and adjunct professor of health policy and
management at the School of Public Health, has been named a
member of the National Advisory Council on Nurse Education and
Practice of the Health Resources and Services Administration by
Secretary of Health and Human Services Donna Shalala.

Changing places, new faces

     Margaret Horton Hindman has been appointed director of
development communications at The Johns Hopkins Institutions. She
will develop and execute communications and marketing strategy in
support of The Johns Hopkins Initiative.

     Fritz Schroeder has been named the university's director of
annual giving. He will lead efforts to attract yearly
contributions from alumni, parents and friends of the university.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage