Johns Hopkins Gazette: June 23 1997

For The Record:
Initiative Passes
$743 Million

As of May 31, the Johns Hopkins Initiative campaign had raised $743.3 million, or 83 percent of its $900 million goal. Gifts and pledges for endowment and facilities had reached $455 million, or 87 percent of the goal for these priorities.

Francis C. and Anne W. Rienhoff recently gave $1 million to establish the William F. Rienhoff Jr. Endowed Fund in the School of Medicine. The fund, which honors Mr. Rienhoff's late father, will support students and younger faculty and house staff involved in teaching or practical research, with preference given to surgery.

The late Dr. Rienhoff (Med '19)--the last surgical resident of the famed William Halsted--served on the faculty of the School of Medicine and developed several important surgical techniques.

Recent commitments totaling more than $600,000 have been received for the construction of permanent grandstands at Homewood Field.

Contributing were former lacrosse players Emil A. (Buzzy) Budnitz Jr. (A&S '53); Joseph W. Cowan (A&S '69); Donald A. Kurz (A&S '77); Dennis W. Townsend (A&S '66); and James M. (Mickey) Webster Jr. (A&S '59). The $2.2 million sought for the grandstands is part of an overall goal of $3.5 million that will also fund an entrance pavilion.

Trustee emeritus and presidential counselor Robert H. Krieble (A&S Ph.D. '39), died May 8 at his home in Connecticut. His $1 million charitable remainder unitrust established in 1975 today is valued at $3.6 million. It has endowed the Vernon Krieble Professorship in Chemistry in memory of his father and has helped to establish the Alsoph Corwin Professorship in Chemistry, both in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.

Bequests that have furthered Initiative goals include: Virginia Haller: $3.2 million to create the Haller Professorship in Pediatric Neurologic Diseases at the School of Medicine, in honor of the Haller family's contributions to medicine; Dorothy Scott Bendann: over $900,000 to the Peabody Conservatory to establish a junior faculty chair in classical music and to endow a scholarship fund in violin in memory of her mother; and Cruikshank Stuart (Engr '28): $800,000 unrestricted to the Whiting School of Engineering.

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage