Johns Hopkins Gazette: July 22, 1996

For The Record:

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards and appointments

Arts and Sciences

Adrianne Williams, a senior natural sciences major, has been named a UNCF-Merck Science fellow. The award consists of a stipend of up to $15,000, an institutional grant of $10,000 and the opportunity to compete for one of two Merck summer internships of $5,000 each.

Continuing Studies

James Calvin, assistant professor in the Division of Business and Management, was selected to address the Eighth General Assembly of the World Future Society July 14 to 18 in Washington, D.C. The society is a nonprofit scientific and educational association interested in future social and technological developments.

Jeffrey Givens, microcomputer services technician for the Columbia Center, has been appointed president of the university's Black Faculty and Staff Association for the upcoming academic year. The 120-member organization was created last year to serve as "a viable and visible forum dedicated to promoting and enhancing identity, sense of community, professional welfare and development among black faculty, students and staff."


Paul Dicamillo, a senior majoring in biological medicine/electrical engineering, has been selected for third team at-large GTE Academic All-America honors in cross country.


Nancy Davidson, who holds the Breast Cancer Research Chair in Oncology at the Oncology Center, was recognized by the Baltimore Post Office in the first-day-of-issue ceremony for the new breast cancer awareness stamp last month. Davidson was a contributor to the Post Office's four-month-long public service campaign aimed at raising awareness about breast cancer and early detection.

Jeanne McCauley, on leave as assistant professor of medicine, was one of 19 University of Delaware alumni recently honored as 1996 Presidential Citation recipients. The award honors alumni who exhibit great promise in their professional careers or public service activities.

Albert Owens, Distinguished Service Professor of Oncology and Medicine, has become president of the National Coalition for Cancer Research, an organization devoted to educating the American public and its policy makers about the value of cancer research.

Paul Talalay, John Jacob Abel Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences, has been awarded a special grant from the Cancer Research Foundation of America starting July 15 for $29,000. Talalay's grant is titled "Protection Against Cancer by Dietary Isothiocyanates."


Jacquelyn Campbell, professor of nursing, was recently named director of the school's Ph.D. Program in Nursing, and was chosen as recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award for 1996 by Duke University School of Nursing. She was also named to the National Research Council/Institute of Medicine Committee on the Assessment of Family Violence Interventions.

Jackie Dienemann, associate professor of nursing, has been appointed chair of the Council on Nursing Services and Informatics for the American Nurses Association for the term 1996-98.

Associate Professor Martha Hill and Professor Barbara Redman had a grant application, "Ethical Conflicts Facing Certified Nephrology Nurses Practicing in Dialysis," chosen as recipient of the 1995 CGH Medical Inc. Research Grant by the American Nephrology Nurses Association.

Instructor Betty Jordan received the first District 4 Award of Excellence in Practice from the AWHONN (Association of Women's Health, Obstetrics and Neonatal Nurses).

Instructor Marie Kirwin received certification from the American Nurses Credentialing Center as a community health nurse.

Assistant professor Maureen Maguire was recipient of this year's Caroline Pennington Award, given annually by the School of Nursing. She was also recently named to the Pediatrics Expert Advisory Panel of the United States Pharmacopeia Division of Information Development.

Instructor Phyllis Naumann received certification as an adult nurse practitioner from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. She also presented a poster with instructor Marie Kirwin and assistant professor Karen Huss titled, "Occupational Latex Sensitivity: Stories, Surveys, Skin Tests" at the 7th Annual Research Conference.

Assistant professor Linda Pugh was the primary investigator of a study supported by Mead Johnson Nutritionals called, "An Experimental Study to Minimize Fatigue and Enhance Breastfeeding."

Associate professor Ada Romaine-Davis was elected to membership in The New York Academy of Sciences. She was also recertified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as an adult nurse practitioner.

Stella Shiber, associate dean for professional education, is president-elect of The Maryland Council of Directors of Diploma, Associate Degree and Baccalaureate Nursing Programs.

Instructor Jean Trotter received the Shriver Center's Service-Learning Faculty Development Grant, designed to promote integration of service-learning within curricula and academic programs and to establish a consortium network of faculty members committed to the development of service-learning.

Instructor Rosemarie Wood recently received certification from the American Nurses' Association for clinical specialist in medical-surgical nursing and the American Heart Association in advanced cardiac life support.

Changing places, new faces

Jerilyn Allen, associate professor in the School of Nursing, was named the school's associate faculty editor for the Johns Hopkins Family Health Reference.

The university Security Department announced the promotion of Caroline Bennett from campus officer to sergeant and Mark Carter from sergeant to lieutenant.

Belinda Crough has been appointed director of compensation/HRIS in the Office of Human Resources.

Michela Gallagher has been appointed professor with tenure in the School of Arts & Sciences' Department of Psychology.

School of Nursing associate professor Fannie Gaston-Johansson has been named director of extramural academic relations. The position involves linking the school with other nursing schools in the country and abroad.

Joel Grossman has been appointed professor with tenure in the School of Arts & Sciences' Department of Political Science.

Daniel Hammer has been appointed professor with tenure in the School of Engineering's Department of Chemical Engineering.

Peter Jusczyk has been appointed professor with tenure in the School of Arts & Sciences' Department of Psychology.

Thomas Pollard, professor and director of the School of Medicine's Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy, has been selected to head the Salk Institute for Biological Studies as president and CEO, effective July 1.

Nursing instructor Barbara Van de Castle began a joint appointment in Clinical Information Systems at Johns Hopkins Hospital.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage