Johns Hopkins Gazette: August 18, 1997

For the Record

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content.

Honors, awards and

Continuing Studies
Peggy King-Sears, associate professor in the Department of Special Education, has been elected to a three-year term as secretary for the Council for Learning Disabilities, an international professional organization.

Homewood Student Affairs
A Johns Hopkins University men's lacrosse brochure produced by Jennifer Hoover, sports information director in the Department of Athletics, won two citations of excellence from the College Sports Information Directors of America. The brochure was judged best in the nation and recognized for best cover in a Single Sport Brochures/Division A contest.

Three Panamanian physicians--Julio Wong (MD '51), Manuel Preciado (MD '40) and Rolando Chanis (MD '36)--were honored by the School of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Association for outstanding contributions to medical education. They are the first ever to receive the award, established to recognize individuals from around the world who studied medicine at Hopkins and then returned to serve with distinction in their native countries.

Karen Bolla, associate professor of neurology, psychiatry and behavioral sciences, and environmental health sciences, Division of Occupational Medicine, spoke on neurobehavioral effects of occupational and environmental exposure to neurotoxic chemicals at an international seminar in Brazil. She has also been appointed as a technical and scientific consultant on neurobehavioral toxicology to the Federal University of Minas Gerais, School of Medicine, Brazil.

Anirvan Ghosh, assistant professor of neuroscience, has been appointed a 1997 Pew scholar in the biomedical sciences by the Pew Charitable Trusts. The $200,000, four-year scholarship will allow Ghosh to pursue research on his winning proposal, "Analysis of NOTCH Function in the Regulation of Cortical Neurogenesis."

William Briggs, associate professor of medicine in the Division of Nephrology, recently learned that his article "Lymphocyte responsiveness to glucocorticoids, cyclosporine or both," from the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology has been selected as the most promising and innovative article in the journal for 1996.

Public Health
William Bishai, assistant professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases/Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, has received the Joseph Bates Young Investigator Award from the assembly on Microbiology, Tuberculosis and Pulmonary Infections of the American Thoracic Society.

Changing places,
new faces

Timothy Barbari, professor of chemical engineering in the School of Engineering, has been appointed interim associate dean for academic affairs.

Megan Callahan has been named head field hockey and assistant women's lacrosse coach. She will take over the field hockey program from Janine Tucker, who relinquishes those duties to take over the women's lacrosse program full time. Callahan will assist Tucker in the spring with the women's lacrosse team, which will begin Division I competition in 1998-99.

Jayne Campbell has been named acting director of the Welch Medical Library, stepping into the role left vacant by David Kingsbury who has accepted a position as vice president of Chiron Corp.

Michelle Glassburn has been promoted to director of the School of Continuing Studies Columbia Center. She has been with the center since 1993, previously as assistant director.

Eva Lane has been promoted to director of the School of Continuing Studies Downtown Center. She has been with the center since 1990, previously as assistant director.

Elizabeth Mayotte has been named assistant dean and director of electronic and distance education in the School of Continuing Studies. Previously, she was director of the school's Columbia Center, a role she held for the past six years.

Michael Prietula has been named associate professor and chairman of the Commerce and Technology Department in the Division of Business and Management in the School of Continuing Studies.

Don Rosenblum has been promoted to assistant dean in the School of Continuing Studies, in addition to his current role as director of enrollment management.

Toni Ungaretti has been appointed assistant dean and director of undergraduate programs in the School of Continuing Studies. She will be responsible for program and curriculum design and development, as well as academic advisement and budget management.

Joan Williams has been named vice president of human resources of the hospital and health system, having served since February as acting vice president. She will continue to serve as vice president of human resources for the Bayview Medical Center and will provide human resources strategic oversight for all health system affiliates.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage