Johns Hopkins Magazine
Johns Hopkins Magazine Current Issue Past Issues Search Get In Touch
One Dozen Brody Years

William R. Brody's tenure as 13th president of Johns Hopkins was a span of time marked by construction projects, major gifts, and a plethora of accolades for Hopkins scholars, artists, and researchers — bricks, bucks, and prizes.

April 8, 1996: Johns Hopkins board of trustees selects William R. Brody to be president of Johns Hopkins University. Brody takes office on September 1.

September 15, 1997: University completes $4.6 million renovation of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library.

September 29, 1997: Victor McKusick, Med '46, of the School of Medicine and Alfred Sommer, SPH '73 (MPH), of the Bloomberg School of Public Health win Albert Lasker Awards, popularly known (at least in this country) as the American version of the Nobel Prize.

January 5, 1998: School of Nursing moves into the new Anne M. Pinkard Building.

October 9, 1998: Alumnus and future mayor of New York Michael Bloomberg, Engr '64 (right), pledges $45 million to the university, bringing his total contribution to the Johns Hopkins campaign to a tidy $100 million.

November 18, 1998: Alice McDermott, then a visiting professor (now a full professor) in the Writing Seminars, wins the National Book Award for her novel Charming Billy.

October 25, 1999: Johns Hopkins Medicine dedicates the $125 million Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Building for clinical cancer services.

June 30, 2000: The Johns Hopkins Initiative ends, having received $1.52 billion in commitments for the university's endowment.

October 9, 2000: Alumnus Paul Greengard, A&S '53 (PhD), is a joint winner of the Nobel Prize in medicine.

January 2, 2001: Hopkins opens its 35,000-square-foot Downtown Center for the School of Professional Studies in Business and Education.

April 20, 2001: The university dedicates the new Mattin Center student arts complex (right) on the Homewood campus. Also in February, an anonymous $58.5 million gift launches the School of Medicine's Institute for Cell Engineering.

May 6, 2001: Anonymous donor pledges $100 million to establish the Johns Hopkins Malaria Institute at the Bloomberg School.

October 12, 2001: The university dedicates Clark Hall (right) on the Homewood campus as the new home of Biomedical Engineering. Later in the same month, Kay Redfield Jamison and Geraldine Seydoux of the School of Medicine are named MacArthur Fellows.

November 14, 2001: Sidney Kimmel donates $150 million to cancer research. In recognition of the largest gift ever to Johns Hopkins, the institution's cancer center becomes the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center.

April 12, 2002: The university dedicates the new Ralph S. O'Connor Recreation Center on the Homewood campus.

May 9, 2002: Victor McKusick announced as winner of a National Medal of Science.

October 8, 2002: Riccardo Giacconi, research professor in physics and astronomy, wins Nobel Prize in physics. Later in the month, Hodson Hall is dedicated on the Homewood campus.

June 5, 2003: The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation commits $40 million to the Bloomberg School to found the Bill and Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health, which will train leaders in reproductive health in the developing world.

August 28, 2003: The university opens 50,000-square-foot New Chemistry Building on the Homewood campus.

September 2003: The Broadway Research Building opens on the East Baltimore campus, one of many Johns Hopkins capital projects the state of Maryland helped fund.

October 8, 2003: Peter Agre, Med '74, professor of biological chemistry at the School of Medicine, wins the Nobel Prize in chemistry.

April 12, 2004: Peabody Institute completes the $26.8 million renovation of its campus. Not to be outdone, the Bloomberg School completes a 12-year construction project, nearly doubling the size of its facility.

February 21, 2005: Riccardo Giacconi (right) and neuroscientist Solomon H. Snyder announced as winners of the 2005 National Medal of Science.

February 2, 2006: Johns Hopkins Knowledge for the World campaign receives $100 million from an anonymous donor.

March 6, 2006: Classes begin in the School of Education's new 73,000-square-foot Education Building, formerly Seton High School, on Charles Street.

September 1, 2006: The Charles Commons residential, dining, and retail complex opens on the Homewood campus.

September 17, 2006: School of Medicine professor Carol Greider wins a 2006 Albert Lasker Award.

October 26, 2006: The university announces that its $2 billion Knowledge for the World campaign has become a $3.2 billion campaign, since the original goal was surpassed two years ahead of schedule.

December 4, 2006: Hopkins dedicates a second cancer research building, named in honor of trustee David Koch after his $20 million gift. That same day, the trustees announce the creation of the Carey Business School, upon a gift of $50 million from trustee emeritus William Polk Carey.

February 19, 2007: William Brody elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

July 17, 2007: Professor of engineering James E. West receives the National Medal of Technology.

September 11, 2007: The Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., announces that Peabody faculty member Leon Fleisher will receive a 2007 Kennedy Center Honors Award. Ten days later, Mason Hall — named for donors Raymond A. "Chip" Mason and his wife, Rand (right) — opens on the Homewood campus. Four days after that, Lisa Cooper, a Hopkins internist and epidemiologist, wins a MacArthur Fellowship.

September 23, 2008: Hopkins astrophysicist Adam Riess, critical care specialist and physician Peter Pronovost, and alumna Chimamanda Adichie, A&S '04, receive MacArthur Fellowships. — DK

All photos courtesy of The JHU Gazette and Homewood Imaging and Photographic Services.

Go to "Measuring the Unmeasurable"
Go to "Johns Hopkins under Brody: Bigger, Richer, More Diverse"
Return to November 2008 Table of Contents

  The Johns Hopkins Magazine | 901 S. Bond St. | Suite 540 | Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone 443-287-9900 | Fax 443-287-9898 | E-mail