Headlines at Hopkins: news releases from across
university Headlines
News by Topic: news releases organized by
subject News by Topic
News by School: news releases organized by the 
university's 9 schools & divisions News by School
Events Open to the Public (campus-wide) Events Open
to the Public
Blue Jay Sports: Hopkins Athletic Center Blue Jay Sports
Search News Site Search the Site

Contacting the News Staff: directory of
press officers Contacting
News Staff
Receive News Via Email (listservs) Receive News
Via Email
Resources for Journalists Resources for Journalists

Virtually Live@Hopkins: audio and video news Virtually
Hopkins in the News: news clips about Hopkins Hopkins in
the News

Faculty Experts: searchable resource organized by 
topic Faculty Experts
Faculty and Administrator Photos Faculty and
Faculty with Homepages Faculty with Homepages

JHUNIVERSE Homepage JHUniverse Homepage
Headlines at Hopkins
News Release

Office of News and Information
Johns Hopkins University
3003 N. Charles Street, Suite 100
Baltimore, Maryland 21218-3843
Phone: (410) 516-7160 | Fax (410) 516-5251

January 21, 2003
Peabody Institute
410/659-8100, ext. 1190

Michael Kannen Brings Extraordinary Forces Together to Commemorate a Golden Age of Soviet Musicians Exactly Fifty Years from the Night that Prokofiev (and Stalin) Died

Baltimore, MD. January 21, 2003: Michael Kannen, who directs Peabody's Chamber Music program, has assembled some of Peabody's most stellar faculty artists, many of them of Russian origin, to commemorate a Golden Age of Soviet musicians. The concert takes place on Wednesday, March 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Friedberg Hall at One East Mount Vernon Place, exactly fifty years to the night that both Prokofiev (and Stalin) died.

The program features distinguished guest artist Mikhail Kopelman, former first violinist of the Borodin and Tokyo String Quartets, and the following Peabody faculty and students: Victoria Chiang, viola; Victor Danchenko, violin; Marian Hahn, piano; Michael Kannen, cello; Mikhail Kopelman, violin; Maria Lambros, viola; Letitia Nyirjesy, violin; Edward Palanker, clarinet; Misha Rosenker, violin; Boris Slutsky, piano; Alan Stepansky, cello; Keng Yuen Tseng, violin; and Igor Yuzefovich, violin.

They will perform Anton Arensky's Trio in d minor, Op.32; Tchaikovsky's "Andante Cantabile" from String Quartet in D major; Prokofiev's Sonata for Two Violins, Op.56; Prokofiev's Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34; and Shostakovich's Quintet in g minor, Op. 57.

Michael Kannen joined the Peabody Conservatory last September as Sidney Friedberg Chair in Chamber Music. He is the former cellist (and founding member) of the Brentano String Quartet, which has given recitals all over the world and produced many award-winning recordings.


For further information, call the Peabody Box Office 410 / 659-8100 ext. 2. or visit www.peabody.jhu.edu.

Johns Hopkins University news releases can be found on the World Wide Web at http://www.jhu.edu/news_info/news/
   Information on automatic e-mail delivery of science and medical news releases is available at the same address.

Go to Headlines@HopkinsHome Page