CEAFM Dual Degree Program

Weekly Seminar

Annual Symposium

CEAFM Dual Degree Program


Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

The "Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award" recognizes a young JHU scholar who is lead author of a recent paper in fluid mechanics for the work's excellence, originality and potential impact. The award honors two great Johns Hopkins fluid dynamicists, the late Professor Stanley Corrsin and the late Professor Leslie Kovasznay. A number of alumni and friends have come together and established a fund for this award.

To be eligible for nomination, the young scholar (1) must be a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins University, or has left the university no more than 2 years prior to the nomination, and (2) must be a lead author of a paper in fluid mechanics that, at the time of nomination, has already been published in a peer-reviewed, archival journal and describes work done while at Johns Hopkins University. The award, to be given out once a year, consists of $500 to the awardee. In most cases, the awardee will be invited to campus to give a seminar and will receive the award on that occasion. The award is administered by the Center for Environmental and Applied Fluid Mechanics (CEAFM). A committee will receive and evaluate nominations each year, and select the awardee.


Nominating Procedures

Nominations for the award should be emailed to Professor Charles Meneveau by November 1st every year.   Nominations should include:

  1. PDF copy of the published paper being nominated,
  2. CV of the student/postdoc lead author, and 
  3. Paragraph written by the advisor highlighting the essential novelty and contributions of the paper (if appropriate, the paragraph may contain quotations from the referee reviews received for the paper in question), as well as the unique contributions of the nominated student/postdoc lead author to the paper.

An ad-hoc CEAFM faculty committee will make the award selection. After the selection, the awardee is invited to present a CEAFM seminar and receive the award at a date scheduled during the Spring semester. 


Winners of the
Corrsin-Kovasznay Oustanding Paper Award

2016 Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Maylis Landeau for her paper: "Core Merging and Stratification Following Giant Impact" and published in Nature Geoscience with Prof. Peter Olson. » » »



2015 Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Richard J.A.M. Stevens for his paper:  "Large-eddy simulation study of the logarithmic law for second- and higher-order moments in turbulent wall-bounded flow" and published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics. » » »



2013 Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Sumedh R. Risbud for his paper:  "Trajectory and distribution of suspended non-Brownian particles moving past a fixed spherical or cylindrical obstacle" and published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics with German Drazer. » » »



2011 Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Jiarong Hong for his paper:  "Near-wall turbulence statistics and flow structures over three-dimensional roughness in a turbulent channel flow" and published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics with Joseph Katz and Michael P. Schultz. » » »



2010 Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Di Yang, for his paper  "Direct-simulation-based study of turbulent flow over various waving boundaries" published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics with Lian Shen. » » »



Upcoming Seminar

Speaker : Prof. Thomas Juliano (University of Notre Dame)
Title: "Flight & Quiet-Tunnel Measurements of Hypersonic Boundary-Layer Transition"

Date: Friday, April 20, 2018
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Gilman Hall 132

» More information »