CEAFM Dual Degree Program

Weekly Seminar

Annual Symposium

CEAFM Dual Degree Program


Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

The "Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award" recognizes a young JHU scholar who is "lead author" of a recent paper in fluid mechanics for the work's excellence, originality and potential impact. The award honors two great Johns Hopkins fluid dynamicists, the late Professor Stanley Corrsin and the late Professor Leslie Kovasznay. A number of alumni and friends have come together and established a fund for this award.

To be eligible for nomination, the young scholar (1) must be a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins University, or have left the university no more than 2 years prior to the nomination, and (2) must be a lead author of a paper in fluid mechanics that, at the time of nomination, has already been published in a peer-reviewed, archival journal and describes work done while at Johns Hopkins University. The award, to be given out once a year, consists of $500 to the awardee. In most cases, the awardee will be invited to campus to give a seminar and will receive the award on that occasion. The award is administered by the Center for Environmental and Applied Fluid Mechanics (CEAFM). A committee will receive and evaluate nominations each year, and select the awardee.


Winner of the 2015
Corrsin-Kovasznay Oustanding Paper Award

Dr. Richard J.A.M. Stevens for his paper:  "Large-eddy simulation study of the logarithmic law for second- and higher-order moments in turbulent wall-bounded flow" and published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics.

Prof. Tamer Zaki from the Department of Mechanical Engineering presented the Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award and the prize check to Dr. Richard J.A.M. Stevens on occasion of the seminar.

Upcoming Seminar


Please check our Fall 2018 Visitor Schedule

» More information »