The Johns Hopkins Gazette: May 28, 2002
May 28, 2002
VOL. 31, NO. 36


School of Medicine staff honored for service

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

At the sixth annual School of Medicine staff recognition reception on May 14 more than 400 staff members were honored for five, 10 or 15 years of service to the university.

Edward Miller, dean of the medical faculty and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, greeted the crowd in Turner Concourse, where many division and department heads presented awards to honorees from their areas. Eighty-two staff members honored for 15 years of service received cherry wood clocks with the Hopkins seal; 120 honored for 10 years received Lenox crystal Johns Hopkins paperweights; and 199 received key rings with pewter pendants engraved with the Hopkins seal for five years of service. Award recipients and congratulators lingered to enjoy the buffet before returning to their labs and offices. Some staff members wore corsages presented by their own departments.

A similar but smaller reception two days later honored 12 staff members at the School of Nursing. A recognition dinner on June 4 will honor staff members throughout the university celebrating milestone anniversaries for 20 or more years of service, as well as recent retirees. A total of nine recognition events are being held throughout the university in April, May and June to honor staff members in all divisions.

The Office of Faculty, Staff and Retiree Programs coordinates the universitywide staff recognition program.
-- Caterina Provost-Smith

Janice Linder, Laura Harris and Ann Grode

Carl Meyer, Dianna Ennis, Tami Pusateri and Sandy Wlajnitz

Shirley Belle, Joan Marin and Maryrose Gans

Sandra Stallings, Mildred Knight and Sylvia Stuart

Wendy Clark, Michele Quillens and Cynthia Miles

Michael Kaminsky and Anna McCurdy

Stephanie Porter and Lynn Sentarsiere

Larry Battle, Barbara Keyes and Sharon Heckstall-Vanstory

Tylicia McRae and John Balog