The Johns Hopkins Gazette: October 28, 2002
October 28, 2002
VOL. 32, NO. 9


President Brody Appoints Search Committee for New Dean of School of Engineering

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

President Brody has appointed a 15-member committee to conduct a search for a new dean for the Whiting School of Engineering.

The committee, to be chaired by Provost Steven Knapp, will help identify a successor to Dean Ilene Busch-Vishniac, who has announced her intention to step down at the end of this academic year to serve as president of the Acoustical Society of America. She will also assume her role as professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Brody said he also will be asking an outside panel of experts for advice as to how the Whiting School "might best position itself to reach even higher levels of excellence than it has already achieved."

Nominations or other suggestions for the search committee can be addressed to the Provost's Office, 265 Garland Hall, Homewood, or sent by e-mail to

In addition to Knapp, the committee is comprised of Engineering faculty and students, and representatives from other divisions.

Faculty from the Whiting School are Grace Brush, Geography and Environmental Engineering; Ralph-Etienne Cummings, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Lori Graham, Civil Engineering; Justin Haynes, Chemical Engineering; Rao Kosaraju, Computer Science; Charles Meneveau, Mechanical Engineering; Michael Miller, Biomedical Engineering; Jong-Shi Pang, Mathematical Sciences; and Peter Searson, Materials Science and Engineering.

Also from the Whiting School are Ciprian Tutu, a graduate student, and Keenan Wyrobek, an undergraduate.

Members from other divisions are Paul Bottomley, School of Medicine; Adam Falk, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences; and Ralph Semmel, Applied Physics Laboratory.