The Johns Hopkins Gazette: July 21, 2003
July 21, 2003
VOL. 32, NO. 40


Six elected to Johns Hopkins University board of trustees

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Six men and women have been elected to the board of trustees of The Johns Hopkins University for terms beginning July 1. They are:

Marjorie M. Fisher, an adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Near Eastern Studies, University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, and a 1984 recipient of a master of arts in Egyptology at Johns Hopkins. Fisher, an alumni trustee, will serve a six-year term.

Robert L. Johnson, founder, chairman and chief executive officer of BET Holdings in Washington, D.C., who will serve for six years.

Alexander H. Levi, a clinical psychologist in private practice in New York. He also was elected to a six-year term.

Elizabeth Owens, a 2003 graduate of Johns Hopkins with a major in history of art and a minor in economics. A young trustee, she will hold a four-year term.

David M. Rubenstein, co-founder, managing director and partner, the Carlyle Group, Washington, D.C. Rubenstein has been elected to a six-year term.

Robert A. Seder, chief of the cellular immunology section, Dale and Betty Bumpers Vaccine Research Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md., and a 1981 graduate of Johns Hopkins. Seder, an alumni trustee, will serve a six-year term.

Two alumni trustees, Pamela P. Flaherty, senior vice president, Citigroup; and Barclay Knapp, president and chief executive officer, NTL Inc., have been elected to six-year terms as regular trustees.

Three regular trustees have been re-elected to additional six-year terms. They are Robert J. Abernethy, owner of American Standard Development; George L. Bunting Jr., president of Bunting Management Group; and Gail J. McGovern, a professor of management practice, Harvard Business School.

Regular trustee Shale D. Stiller, a senior partner at Piper Rudnick LLP, has been re-elected to a two-year term.