Johns Hopkins Gazette | January 17, 2006
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University January 17, 2006 | Vol. 35 No. 17

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Applied Physics Laboratory

Frank Criste, program manager for the Infocentrics Operations Business Area Navy account, has been awarded a 2005 Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executive for his "outstanding leadership, accomplishments and service" while a senior executive with the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense, Networks and Information Integration.

Doug Hudson, director of Special Programs, has been appointed to the National Industrial Security Program Policy Advisory Committee. Comprising both government and industry representatives, NISPPAC is responsible for recommending changes in industrial security policy to the president, the secretary of defense and other executive branch officials.

Jerry Krill of the Director's Office was recently chosen an Innovator of the Year by the Maryland Daily Record for his optical communications network innovation that would make universal wireless broadband possible.

Bruce Newhall, a group supervisor in the National Security Technology Department, received the National Defense Industrial Association's Bronze Award Citation at the association's 2005 Joint Undersea Warfare Technology Fall Conference. The award is presented annually to NDIA members from Navy research and academic laboratories for their lifetime contributions to the field of undersea warfare. According to the award citation, Newhall's "contributions in the areas of sensor and signal processing development for undersea warfare are directly reflected in the design of surveillance and tactical sonar systems in operation by the Navy today."


Bloomberg School of Public Health

Andrea Carlson Gielen, professor in the Department of Health, Behavior and Society and director of the Center for Injury Research and Policy, was recently elected a fellow of the American Academy of Health Behavior. Gielen focuses her research on the development and evaluation of community- and clinic-based programs that address health behavior problems affecting women and children, primarily among low-income families in urban areas. She also examines the application of behavioral sciences to childhood injury control and domestic violence prevention programs, in addition to studying the relationship between violence and HIV risk. Gielen, who joined the academy in 2001, will be formally recognized at its annual meeting in March.


Johns Hopkins Bayview

Melissa Feld has been appointed assistant dean of the Bayview campus. In this position, Feld will partner with David Hellmann, chairman of the Department of Medicine and vice dean of Bayview, to build upon the medical center's strengths and to develop programs that reinforce the bonds between The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins Bayview. Feld will continue her duties as the administrator of the Department of Medicine.


School of Medicine

Eric B. Bass, professor of medicine and senior faculty research fellow at the Urban Health Institute, has been named editor in chief of the new journal Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education and Action.

Landon King has been named head of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in the Department of Medicine. King was promoted to associate professor of medicine and biological chemistry in 2003, having established his laboratory as leading the field in exploration of the role of water channels in pulmonary biochemistry and physiology. He obtained his medical degree from Vanderbilt University and came to Hopkins as an Osler house officer and then completed a fellowship in pulmonary medicine and a postdoctoral position in the laboratory of Peter Agre.

Wendy Sanders has been appointed assistant dean for graduate and medical education, a new position that stems from the increasing demand for programs that enhance career services and professional development for students, fellows and young faculty. The position will report to the Office of Graduate Student Affairs. Sanders has served as director of the Professional Development Office since its inception; concurrent appointment as assistant dean recognizes her success in establishing the office as the pre-eminent resource for programs in biomedical communications for the entire JHMI community. Her additional duties will include developing intersession courses in biomedical communications as part of the school's new curriculum and establishing programs to encourage an interest in science among high school students, through JHM's various partnerships with area schools.

Gary Wand, professor of medicine and psychiatry and director of the Endocrine Training Program, has been admitted to the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.


School of Nursing

Hae ra Han, assistant professor, was elected to serve as a member of the nominating committee for the Southern Nursing Research Society for the 2006-2008 term.

Robin Newhouse, nurse researcher, received a three-year Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Award (KO8) from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality for "Rural Hospital Nursing: Environment, Effects and Evidence." The award will provide additional training in health services research and fund a study to evaluate the effects of legislative and market influences on rural nursing structure and patient outcomes.

Linda Rose, associate professor, is now director of the baccalaureate program. Rose joined the faculty in 1993 and has taught in both the bachelor's and doctoral programs, most recently coordinating the psychiatric mental health course and the research course in the bachelor's program.

GO TO January 17, 2006 TABLE OF CONTENTS.

The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |