About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University February 20, 2006 | Vol. 35 No. 22
Two Johns Hopkins Professors Elected to National Academy of Engineering

By Phil Sneiderman

Two Johns Hopkins faculty members — one with expertise in coastal engineering and the other in speech recognition technology — have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Engineering.

The Whiting School's Robert A. Dalrymple and Frederick Jelinek were among 76 new members and nine foreign associates named to the academy, according to a Feb. 10 announcement from the organization. This brings the academy's total U.S. membership to 2,216 and the number of foreign associates to 186, the group said. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. The formal induction ceremony will take place in October in Washington, D.C.

Dalrymple, who is the Willard and Lillian Hackerman Professor of Civil Engineering, was honored for his contributions to theories and their application to coastal and ocean engineering.

Jelinek is the Julian Sinclair Smith Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the university's Center for Language and Speech Processing. He was recognized for his contributions to statistical language processing with applications to automatic speech recognition.

Dalrymple and Jelinek join six other Whiting School faculty members who are also members of the National Academy of Engineering: Alan Goldman, professor emeritus in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics; Charles O'Melia, chair of the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering and Abel Wolman Professor of Environmental Engineering; Murray Sachs, professor and Bessie Darling Massey Chair in Biomedical Engineering; Eugene Shchukin, research professor emeritus in DOGEE; James West, research professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and M. Gordon "Reds" Wolman, the B. Howell Griswold Jr. Professor of Geography and International Affairs in DOGEE.

In addition to the two faculty members newly elected to the academy, three Johns Hopkins Engineering alumni were also chosen: William J. Boettinger, a fellow at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.; Menachem Elimelech, the Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Environmental and Chemical Engineering at Yale; and Michael D. Griffin, administrator of NASA and former director of the Space Department at the university's Applied Physics Laboratory.


The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |