Johns Hopkins Gazette | August 20, 2007
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University August 20, 2007 | Vol. 36 No. 42

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Bloomberg School of Public Health

Leiyu Shi has been promoted to professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management.


Carey Business School

Richard Milter, MBA program director, has been promoted to professor. Elaine Worzala, professor in the Edward St. John Department of Real Estate, has accepted an invitation to join the Chapter Board of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. RICS is a leading international source of land, property, construction and related environmental knowledge, supporting 130,000 members worldwide, promoting best practices, representing consumers' interests and providing impartial advice to consumer groups, businesses, governments and global organizations.


Johns Hopkins Health System

Johns Hopkins Conquest, a report from the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center on its Maryland cigarette restitution funds, has received a Benjamin Franklin Award for best designed and printed newsletter. The "Benny" was awarded in the Premier Print competition sponsored by Printing Industries of America/Graphic Arts Technical Foundation. The report was designed by MSK Partners and printed by Schmitz Press.


Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Douglas E. Barrick has been promoted to professor in the Department of Biophysics.

Brad Leithauser has been appointed as a professor in the Writing Seminars.

William P. Minicozzi II of the Mathematics Department has been named to a Krieger-Eisenhower Professorship.

Mary Jo Salter has been appointed as a professor in the Writing Seminars.

Lars Toender, a doctoral student in the Political Science Department, will receive the American Political Science Association's Leo Strauss Award for the best doctoral dissertation in the field of political philosophy at the association's annual meeting, to be held Aug. 30 in Chicago. His dissertation is titled "Experiences of Tolerance: Immanence, Transcendence, Hilaritas."


School of Education

Stanley Malm, a faculty associate in the Police Executive Leadership Program in the Division of Public Safety Leadership, recently joined a group of educators on a tour through parts of Europe in a Teacher's Summer Seminar on the Holocaust and Jewish Resistance. Sponsored by the Holocaust Memorial Museum, the intense three-week learning experience is offered only to a select group of educators from around the United States. Malm teaches a Special Topics in Leadership course in which the role of police during the Holocaust is explored.

Robin Saunders, a doctoral student in the Teacher Development and Leadership Program, has been awarded a three-year fellowship for her dissertation research from the Association for the Study of Higher Education. The ASHE/Lumina Foundation Dissertation Fellowship Program supports access to higher education by encouraging research on topics of financial aid, student retention and success, and adult learners and learning. Saunders' dissertation focused on how learning communities influence academic outcomes of African-Americans.


School of Medicine

Roger S. Blumenthal has been promoted to professor of medicine.

Rachel Green has been promoted to professor of molecular biology.

Daniel F. Hanley Jr. has been appointed as the first holder of the Jeffrey and Harriet Legum Professorship in Acute Neurological Medicine, in the Department of Neurology.

Sridhar Nimmagadda, a postdoctoral fellow in Neuroradiology, has received a pilot grant from the Education and Research Foundation of the Society of Nuclear Medicine for his research titled "Choline Kinase as a Therapeutic Target: Imaging Downstream Effects of Choline Kinase Inhibition."

Jonathan B. Orens has been promoted to professor of medicine.


School of Nursing

Marion J. Ball has been appointed as professor emerita.

Patricia Abbott, an assistant professor, was filmed this summer by PBS as part of a series on the future of nursing and information technology. The 30-minute interview was held at Giving Nurses a Voice: Future Care Delivery, a nursing informatics Town Hall held in Baltimore.

Anne Belcher, associate dean, has been selected as an inaugural fellow of the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education. Inductees are chosen on the basis of presenting sound evidence of enduring and substantial contributions to, and visionary leadership in, nursing education; and relating their contributions in nursing education to the mission and goals of the NLN. Belcher will participate in the Academy Induction Ceremony held in conjunction with the NLN Submit Awards Banquet on Sept. 29 in Phoenix.

Ronald A. Berk has been appointed as professor emeritus.

Janice Hoffman, an instructor, is being honored in the 2008 Maryland Nurses Association Faces of Nursing calendar. The calendar, which features two pictures of Hoffman, will be unveiled on Thursday, Oct. 18, during the MNA Convention at the Maritime Institute Conference Center.

Cynda Rushton, an associate professor, was featured in the article "Renewal and Retention: Strategies for Addressing the Nursing Shortage" in the July issue of the Robert Wood Johnson Newsletter. The article covers Rushton's R3 program--Renewal, Resilience and Retention for Nurses-- and its similarities to the prominent Robert Wood Johnson Foundation initiative to improve nurse retention.


University Libraries

Sayeed Choudhury has been promoted to associate dean for digital programs at the Johns Hopkins Sheridan Libraries. He will oversee the Digital Research and Curation Center, which manages, preserves and provides access to large datasets across a broad set of disciplines; the Systems Department, which provides technical support for the library management system, networking, Web applications and the desktop fleet; and Library Academic Computing Services, which supports projects such as electronic dissertations and theses, geographical information systems services and integration of library resources in courseware management systems. Choudhury, who is also the Hodson Director of the Digital Research and Curation Center, was formerly associate director of the libraries' digital programs.


Whiting School of Engineering

Jason Eisner has been promoted to associate professor in the Department of Computer Science.


The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |