Johns Hopkins Gazette: June 12, 1995

Snark Hosts Summertime Film Festival


     Chris Aldrich is a movie machine.

     He directs the Reel World film series, a long-standing
weekly feature at Homewood during the academic year. Along with
fellow film junkie Matthew Gross, he is chairing the 1995 Milton
S. Eisenhower Symposium celebrating the first 100 years of motion
pictures, which is always an incredibly labor-intensive
student-run project. 

     And to fill up those lazy summer days, he has created the
Snark Summer Film Festival--106 feature films in 45 consecutive
days--from June 16 through July 30.

     All screenings are free.

     The nightly dose of double (and sometime triple) features
will be held at Shriver Hall, at Homewood, with the first film
beginning promptly at 8 p.m. Generally a few short films will
start the evening, and there will be a five-minute intermission
between feature films.

     The following is the tentative schedule for the Snark Summer
Film Festival. For a complete listing and to confirm dates, films
and times, call (410) 516-8666.


Friday, June 16:   Bogart
     Casablanca, 
     The Big Sleep

Saturday, June 17:   American Classics
     The Great Train Robbery, 
     Citizen Kane, 
     Stagecoach

Sunday, June 18:   Polanski
     Two Men and a Wardrobe, 
     Knife in the Water,
     Cul-De-Sac

Monday, June 19:   Godard
     All the Boys Are Named Patrick, 
     Alphaville, 
     Masculine-Feminine

Tuesday, June 20: German Expressionism
     The Student of Prague, 
     The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, 
     The Golem: How He Came into the World

Wednesday, June 21:   Kurosawa
     Seven Samurai

Thursday, June 22:   Hitchcock
     Blackmail, 
     Murder

Friday, June 23:   Chaplin
     Steamboat Willie, 
     Modern Times, 
     Steamboat Bill Jr.

Saturday, June 24:   Classic Horror Films
     The Hunchback of Notre Dame, 
     The Phantom of the Opera,
     Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Sunday, June 25:   Renoir
     Toni, 
     Boudu

Monday, June 26:   Godard--Plus
     The Red Balloon, 
     A Married Woman

Tuesday, June 27:   German Classics
     Blue Angel, 
     Threepenny Opera 

Wednesday, June 28:   Kurosawa
     Yojimbo, 
     Sanjuro

Thursday, June 29:   Mixed Bag
     The Concert, 
     Number Seventeen, 
     The Man Who Knew Too Much

Friday, June 30:   Campy Screamers
     Little Shop of Horrors, 
     Night of the Living Dead,
     Invasion of the Body Snatchers

Saturday, July 1:   Light Comedy Night
     The Producers,
     Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Sunday, July 2:   Renoir
     A Day in the Country,
     Rules of the Game

Monday, July 3:   Truffaut
     Les Mistons, 
     The Wild Child,
     Jules et Jim

Tuesday, July 4:   Fritz Lang
     M, 
     The Crimes of Dr. Mabuse

Wednesday, July 5:   Kurosawa
     Rashomon, 
     Drunken Angel,
     Ikiru

Thursday, July 6:   Hitchcock
     The 39 Steps, 
     Secret Agent

Friday, July 7:   Film Noir
     Scarlet Street, 
     D.O.A.

Saturday, July 8:   American Classics
     Sunset Boulevard,
     The Maltese Falcon

Sunday, July 9:   Renoir
     Grand Illusion, 
     La Błte Humaine,
     The Southerner

Monday, July 10:   Borzage Directs
     A Farewell to Arms,
     History Is Made at Night

Tuesday, July 11:   Classic Silents
     The Passion of Joan of Arc, 
     Sunrise

Wednesday, July 12:   Kurosawa
     Red Beard, 
     Throne of Blood

Thursday, July 13:   Hitchcock
     Sabotage
     Young and Innocent

Friday, July 14:   American Classics
     Rebel Without a Cause,
     It Happened One Night

Saturday, July 15:   Kate Hepburn
     Philadelphia Story, 
     Bringing Up Baby

Sunday, July 16:   The Pagnol Trilogy
     Marius, 
     Fanny, 
     Cesar

Monday, July 17:   Classic Tearjerkers
     The Yearling, 
     Lassie Come Home

Tuesday, July 18:   Campy Busby Berkeley
     The Gold Diggers of 1933,
     The Gold Diggers of 1935

Wednesday, July 19:   Satyajit Ray
     Pather Panchali, 
     The World of Apu

Thursday, July 20:   Hitchcock
     The Lady Vanishes, 
     Jamaica Inn

Friday, July 21:   Odd Men Out
     On the Waterfront, 
     The Third Man

Saturday, July 22:   Laurel and Hardy
     The Bohemian Girl, 
     Flying Deuces, 
     Saps at Sea, 
     Blockheads, 
     Chump at Oxford

Sunday, July 23:   Harold Lloyd
     Don, 
     The Freshman,
     The Kid Brother

Monday, July 24:   More Harold Lloyd
     His Royal Slyness, 
     Girl Shy,
     Feet First

Tuesday, July 25:   Cowboy Yarns
     Bells of Capistrano, 
     Bells of Rosarita

Wednesday, July 26:   Satyajit Ray
     Devi, Mandabi

Thursday, July 27:   Hitchcock
     Foreign Correspondent,
     Notorious

Friday, July 28:   Hitchcock
     Shadow of a Doubt,
     Strangers on a Train

Saturday, July 29:   Hitchcock
     North by Northwest, 
     Psycho

Sunday, July 30:   French Drama
     Bizarre, Bizarre, 
     The Earrings of Madame de

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage