The Johns Hopkins Gazette: May 25, 1998
May 25, 1998
VOL. 27, NO. 36


For The Record

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

The Gazette welcomes contributions to Cheers submitted in writing and accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length and/or clarity.

Arts and Sciences

Elizabeth Cropper, professor of art history and director of the Charles Singleton Center for Italian Studies, Villa Spelman, Florence, and Charles G. Demsey, professor of Italian Renaissance and baroque art, have been elected members of the American Philosophical Society. Founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743, the organization is the oldest learned society in the United States devoted to the advancement of scientific and scholarly inquiry.

Edward M. Hedgecock has been promoted to professor in the Department of Biology, effective July 1.

Daniel H. Reich has been promoted to professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, effective July 1.

Owen M. Phillips has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, effective July 1.


Robert S. Ross has been appointed senior director, support services of Bayview Medical Center.

Central Administration

Ross Jones, vice president and secretary, has been appointed vice president and secretary emeritus upon his retirement, effective July 1.


Michael J. Betenbaugh has been promoted to professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, effective July 1.

The Condition of Postmodernity, a 1989 book by geographer David Harvey, was chosen by the literary editor of the London Independent as one of the 50 most significant books published since 1945.


The American Pediatric Society presented its 1998 Joseph W. St. Geme Jr. Leadership Award to Catherine DeAngelis, vice dean for academic affairs and faculty, and professor of pediatrics. The award, which memorializes St. Geme's contributions to pediatrics, recognizes DeAngelis as a role model and as one who has contributed to the development of pediatrics.

William B. Isaacs, associate professor, Urology and Oncology, has been appointed first recipient of the William Thomas Gerrard, Mario Anthony Duhon and Jennifer and John Chalsty Professorship in Urology.

Louis R. Kavoussi, associate professor, Urologic Surgery, has been named the first recipient of the Patrick C. Walsh, M.D. Professorship of Urology.

Thomas J. Kelly, director of the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, has been elected a member of the American Philosophical Society.

At its annual Nurses Week breakfast for nursing staff, the Department of Medicine handed out four awards. The Professional Excellence Awards went to Laura Palmer, Osler 3, for excellence in clinical practice, and Marida Twilley, Halsted 5, for excellence in education. Edith Perry, support associate on Osler 5, took home the George Strong Award, an honor named in memory of a unit assistant that traditionally is given to ancillary staff and recognizes superior effort. The Service Excellence Award went to Phyllis Richard, a patient representative in the Cardiac Care Unit.

The Society of Academic Emergency Physicians is presenting a Clinical Young Investigator Award to Richard Rothman, instructor in emergency medicine. The honor, one of three presented nationally in the inaugural year for the awards, recognizes emergency physician/scientists of junior academic rank who have achieved excellence and demonstrated promise and distinction in emergency medicine research careers.

Claire Roz has been named assistant director for psychiatry/neuroscience nursing. Roz was formerly nurse manager for the Marburg Pavilion and Marburg 2.

The following have been named nurse managers: Char Baumgardner, Pediatric Emergency Department and the Park Clinics; Jennifer Lindsay, the Marburg Pavilion (Marburg 3); Margo Preston, the Department of Medicine on Osler 3; Donna Prow, Department of Surgery on Halsted 8, a surgical oncology floor; Mary Ann Sartain, Pediatric Clinical Research Unit; Michele Steinhauser, Department of Surgery on Nelson 7, a transplant and GI unit; Kim Sweitzer, Department of Medicine on Nelson 4, a general adult medicine unit.

Public Health

Joseph P. Bressler has been promoted to associate professor, Environmental Health Sciences.

Floyd (Randy) Bryant has been promoted to professor, Biochemistry.

The American College of Physicians has conferred mastership on Robert Lawrence, professor, Health Policy and Management, and associate dean, Professional Education and Programs.

In an international election, Jonathan M. Links, associate professor of environmental health sciences, has been elected president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine. SNM is the largest nuclear medicine professional society in the world, with a membership of about 10,000 physicians, scientists and technologists.

Rebecca J. Stoltzfus has been promoted to associate professor, International Health.

Keith P. West Jr. has been promoted to professor in the Department of International Health.