The Johns Hopkins Gazette: November 17, 1997
Nov. 17, 1997
VOL. 27, NO. 12


For The Record:

Honors, awards and appointments
Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content.

Central Administration

Leslie Rice has been promoted to senior media relations representative in the Office of News and Information.

Marc Steiner of WJHU has received the first Achievement in Radio award for best talk radio host in the Baltimore market. The AIRS awards were created in 1987 by the Washington, D.C., radio community and the capital-area chapter of the March of Dimes to recognize excellence in radio. Today they are given in 14 markets.


Douglas M. Green, associate dean for research, has been chosen to serve as president of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, which has more than 400,000 members. At a recent convention, Green was part of a five-member Mid-Atlantic area slate of candidates elected to lead the organization as its new executive council, beginning Oct. 17, 1998. The slate members elected Green to begin a four-year term as the organization's president at that time. Tau Beta Pi was founded in 1885. Its first Maryland chapter was founded in 1921 at Hopkins. The society emphasizes engineering ethics and provides fellowships, scholarships and awards for engineering students.

At its annual meeting in St. Louis, the Council for Chemical Research elected its top officers for 1998. Marc. C. Donahue, professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, will continue in his post as treasurer. Membership of the Council for Chemical Research represents most of the U.S. chemical-research enterprise, currently comprising 151 academic institutions, 38 industrial corporations and independent laboratories and 13 government laboratories with a combined R&D budget of more than $7 billion.


Gershon Efron has been promoted to professor of surgery.

Linda P. Fried has been promoted to professor of medicine, full time.

James C. Harris Jr. has been promoted to professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, with a secondary appointment in pediatrics.

Bruce A. Perler has been promoted to professor of surgery.

Peter C.M. Van Zijl has been promoted to professor of radiology, full time.

Richard J. Traystman has been selected as the recipient of the 1997 American Society of Anesthesiology's Excellence in Research Award.

Public Health

Phyllis T. Piotrow has been appointed professor in the Department of Population Dynamics.