HSO logo banner, Jed Gaylin Music Director

 

2014-2015 Hopkins Symphony Orchestra Rehearsal and Performance Schedule

May 6, 2014 version

AUDITIONS · SDS Room, Mattin Center

Thursday, September 4, 2014 · 3:30 pm – 9 pm
   3:30 pm - 5 pm Winds
   5 pm - 9 pm Strings
Friday, September 5, 2014 · 3 pm – 9 pm
   3 pm - 5 pm Winds
   5 pm - 9 pm Strings
Saturday, September 6, 2014 · 10 am – 5 pm
   10 am - 12:30 pm Winds
   1:30 pm - 5 pm Strings
Please notify us if these dates conflict with your religious observance.

CONCERTS BY CATEGORY

Symphonic Concerts · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

(pre-concert talk 1 hour before performance)
Saturday, October 11, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, December 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, March 7, 2015 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, April 25, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Chamber Concerts · Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center

Sunday, September 28, 2014 at 3pm
Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 3pm
Sunday, February 22, 2015 at 3pm

23rd Annual Concert for Children and Families · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

Sunday, March 8, 2014 at 3 pm

SYMPHONIC REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES in Shriver Hall
Jed Gaylin, Conductor

All rehearsals are 7-9:30 pm except as noted.

  1. Carl Nielsen: Helios Overture
    Carl Nielsen: Concert for Flute
       Susan Rotholz, flute
    Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.3, op.55, E-flat major (Eroica)

    Monday, September 8, 2014
    Monday, September 15, 2014
    Monday, September 22, 2014
    Monday, September 29, 2014
    Thursday, October 2, 2014
    Monday, October 6, 2014 (Fall Break)
    Thursday, October 9, 2014
    Friday, October 10, 2014 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, October 11, 2014    8:00 pm performance

  2. Felix Mendelssohn: Concerto for Violin in E Minor, Op. 64
       Amy Beth Horman, violin
    Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Overture – Fantasy
    Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

    Monday, October 13, 2014 NO REHEARSAL (rest after concert/Columbus Day)
    Monday, October 20, 2014
    Monday, October 27, 2014
    Monday, November 3, 2014
    Monday, November 10, 2014
    Monday, November 17, 2014
    Monday, November 24, 2014 NO REHEARSAL (JHU Thanksgiving Break)
    Monday, December 1, 2014
    Thursday, December 4, 2014
    Friday, December 5, 2014 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, December 6, 2014    8:00 pm performance

  3. Russell Steinberg: Cosmic Dust HSO Commission
    Maurice Ravel: Mother Goose Suite
    Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 30
      Clipper Erickson, piano

    Monday, January 26, 2015
    Monday, February 2, 2015
    Monday, February 9, 2015
    Monday, February 16, 2015
    Monday, February 23, 2015
    Monday, March 2, 2015
    Thursday, March 5, 2015
    Friday, March 6, 2015 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, March 7, 2015    8:00 pm performance, symphonic concert
    Sunday, March 8, 2015    3:00 pm performance, family concert

  4. Camille Saint-Saens: Concerto for Violin No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 61
      Qing Li, violin
    Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.1, D major (Titan)

    Monday, March 9, 2015 NO REHEARSAL (Rest and Recuperation)
    Monday, March 16, 2015 NO REHEARSAL (Spring Break)
    Monday, March 23, 2015
    Monday, March 30, 2015
    Monday, April 6, 2015
    Monday, April 13, 2015
    Thursday, April 16, 2015
    Monday, April 20, 2015
    Thursday, April 23, 2015
    Friday, April 24, 2015 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, April 25, 2015    8:00 pm performance

CHAMBER REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES

All rehearsals are 2-4:30 pm except as noted.

  1. W.A. Mozart: Idomeneo Ballet Music
    Antonin Dvorak: Czech Suite

    Sunday, September 14, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, September 21, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, September 27, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, September 28, 2014 12pm-2pm dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
    Sunday, September 28, 2014   3:00 pm performance , Interfaith Center
  2. W.A. Mozart: Divertimento in D, K. 136
    George Gershwin: Lullaby
    Benjamin Britten: Simple Symphony

    Sunday, October 26, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, November 2, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, November 8, 2014 Interfaith Center
    Sunday, November 9, 2014 12pm-2pm dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
    Sunday, November 9, 2014   3:00 pm performance , Interfaith Center
  3. Felix Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 104

    Sunday, February 8, 2015 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, February 15, 2015 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, February 21, 2015 Interfaith Center
    Sunday, February 22, 2015 12pm-2pm dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
    Sunday, February 22, 2015   3:00 pm performance, Interfaith Center