Johns Hopkins Gazette: November 28, 1994


     Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty,
staff and students. A separate section records some promotions
and new hires.
     We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by
a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity
and content. In addition, items not included for reasons of space
will be published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards and appointments

Public Health

     Floyd Bryant, associate professor of biochemistry, has been
appointed to serve as a member of the Biochemistry Study Section,
Division of Research Grants, in the Department of Health and
Human Services.
     Ruth Faden, professor of health policy and management, has
been elected to the Institute of Medicine. Candidates are chosen
for their major contributions to health and medicine, or to such
related fields as social and behavioral sciences, law,
administration and economics.  
     Susan Gross, a doctoral candidate in Maternal and Child
Health, has received the 1994/95 Donald A. Cornely scholarship to
support outstanding work in maternal and child health. Gross'
research focuses on the eating attitudes and behaviors of young
women with chronic illnesses and disabilities. 
     John Santelli, adjunct assistant professor of maternal and
child health, was elected chairman of the American School Health
Association's editorial board for a three-year term.
     Alyson Shupe, a doctoral candidate in Maternal and Child
Health, has received the 1994/95 John and Alice Chenoweth-Pate
Fellowship to support the training of women who will make major
contributions to maternal and child health. Shupe investigates
the experiences of low-income women, and the development and
health of the fetus and newborn.
     Barbara Starfield, Distinguished Service Professor and head
of the Division of Health Policy, was selected from a field of 16
nominees to receive a Primary Care Achievement Award in Research
from the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Changing places, new faces

     Mohammed Afifi has been appointed visiting scholar in
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the School of Public
     Kyle Bickel has been appointed assistant professor in the
Division of Plastic Surgery at the School of Medicine, with a
joint appointment in the new orthopedic hand service at Hopkins.
     William R. Bishai has been appointed assistant professor,
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, in the School of Public
     Thomas Burke has been promoted to associate professor,
Health Policy and Management, in the School of Public Health.
     Kurt Campbell has been appointed assistant professor of
surgery and director of the Intermediate Care Unit at the Medical
     Terence Cunningham, a veteran of more than 27 years in
hospital administration for the U.S. Air Force, has been
appointed vice president of administration at The Johns Hopkins
Hospital. For the last two years, Cunningham has been chief
executive officer of the 1,000-bed Willford Hall Medical Center
in San Antonio, Texas, a university-affiliated, worldwide medical
referral facility for the Air Force.
     Michele Fizzano has joined The Johns Hopkins Children's
Center as assistant director of Public Affairs. She was
previously a senior media relations representative for the
Medical Institutions.
     Mark Hefferman has been appointed director of the Corporate
Services Office at JHPIEGO, where he will direct the provision of
administrative and management support to JHPIEGO's business
     Robert H. Johnson has been appointed executive vice
president and director of the JHPIEGO Corporation, where he will
oversee all aspects of JHPIEGO's reproductive health initiatives
and will strengthen the organization's capability to meet current
and future health training needs.
     Julie Lange has been appointed assistant professor of
surgery with special interests in surgical oncology at the
Medical Institutions.
     Stephen Mann, who served as a physician's assistant in an
east Los Angeles hospital emergency room before forsaking a
medical career for a life of ecclesiastical service, has been
appointed director of chaplaincy services at The Johns Hopkins
Hospital. Mann comes to Hopkins from the University of Texas
Health Sciences Center, where he had been director of pastoral
care service since 1986.
     Edward McCarthy has been named associate professor of
pathology, with a joint appointment in orthopedic surgery, at the
Medical Institutions. Previously, Dr. McCarthy was attending
pathologist at Sinai Hospital, where he had practiced since 1977.
     Kim J. Nickerson has been appointed assistant professor,
Mental Hygiene, in the School of Public Health.
     Laurice Royal has joined the Legal Department of the Johns
Hopkins Health System. Her principal duties will be to oversee
all legal aspects of employment-related matters, working closely
with Human Resources.
     Harshadkumar Sanghvi has been appointed senior medical
adviser at JHPIEGO, responsible for providing overall guidance in
the development and writing of reproductive health training
     G. Daniel Shealer Jr., senior counsel for corporate and
regulatory affairs at the Johns Hopkins Health System Corp. and
the Johns Hopkins Hospital since 1993, has been appointed deputy
general counsel in the Legal Department.
     Richard Sullivan has been appointed director of the training
office at JHPIEGO, with responsibility for the design and
development of new training programs including the introduction
of new educational approaches and technologies for distance
     Terrence Whitson has been appointed senior media adviser at
JHPIEGO, charged with developing JHPIEGO's media programs through
design and production of video and related promotional materials.

Irwin Book Honored by Phi Beta Kappa and MLA

     John Irwin's most recent book, The Mystery to a Solution:
Poe, Borges, and the Analytic Detective Story, has won two
literary prizes: the 1994 Christian Gauss Award by the Phi Beta
Kappa Society and the second annual Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione
Prize for Comparative Literary Studies presented by the Modern
Language Association.
     The Gauss Award, which carries with it a $2,500 prize,
recognizes an outstanding book in the field of literary
scholarship or criticism. It will be presented on Dec. 2 to Dr.
Irwin, the Decker Professor of the Humanities and chairman of The
Writing Seminars. Hopkins faculty who also have earned the Gauss
prize include Larzer Ziff and Peter Sacks. The MLA's $1,000
Scaglione Prize will be presented to Dr. Irwin on Dec. 28 during
the association's annual convention.

--compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage