The Johns Hopkins Gazette: May 17, 1999
May 17, 1999
VOL. 28, NO. 35



Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.

Applied Physics Laboratory

Gary Smith, former director, has been named director emeritus, effective July 1.

Arts and Sciences

Douglas Barrick, an assistant professor in Biophysics, has received a Young Investigator Award from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. Barrick, one of 16 scientists from around the country who won a Beckman award this year, will use the money to continue his work on the thermodynamic and structural analysis of notch signal transduction. His studies of the notch pathway, which controls cellular differentiation during development, has implications in stroke, dementia and certain forms of leukemia. His research about molecular signaling in hemoglobin was published most recently in the journal Nature Structural Biology.

Margaret Keck has been promoted to professor in the Department of Political Science, effective July 1.

Ruth Leys has been promoted to professor in the Humanities Center, effective July 1.

Julian C. Stanley has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of Psychology. Larzer Ziff, professor of English, has been appointed Caroline Donovan Professor Emeritus in the Department of English, effective July 1.

A Special Arts and Sciences Honor

Susan Wolf, the Duane Peterson Chair in Ethics in the Department of Philosophy in the Krieger School, was among 153 Americans elected a 1999 fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
   The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is a learned society founded by John Adams in 1780 to recognize individuals who have contributed prominently to science, scholarship, the arts and public affairs. Wolf joins 3,300 current academy fellows and 550 foreign honorary members. She will be formerly inducted into the academy this fall.
   Forty-two Hopkins faculty members are academy members.
   Wolf, a highly regarded philosopher whose works focus on ethics and the philosophy of mind, came to Hopkins as an associate professor in 1986 and received tenure in 1990. She is both a former and incoming chair of the department and the recipient of numerous national and international honors for her work, including a Guggenheim fellowship and the Belle van Zuylen Professor fellowship at Utrecht University in the Netherlands.
   Her latest scholarly contributions have been a series of published articles that examine what constitutes a meaningful life. These works will eventually be part of a forthcoming book about happiness and meaning in life. She is also author of the book Freedom Within Reason (Oxford University Press, 1990).
   Other 1999 AAAS fellows include humorist Garrison Keillor, former Hopkins president William C. Richardson, actress Meryl Streep and dancer Mikhail Baryshnikov.

Continuing Studies

Stanley Gabor, dean of the school, has been named dean emeritus, effective July 1.


Roger A. Johns, a cardiac anesthesiologist and expert on the nitric oxide signaling pathway and its roles in pain, anesthesia and vascular biology, has been named professor and chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine. Prior to joining Hopkins, Johns served as professor and acting chair of Anesthesiology at the University of Virginia Medical School, where he had been on the faculty since 1987. He received his bachelor's degree in biological sciences from Stanford University in 1977 and his medical degree from Wayne State University School of Medicine in 1981. He served residencies in internal medicine and anesthesiology at UVA and stayed on to complete fellowships in pharmacology and cardiac anesthesiology before joining the faculty. Johns is the brother of Michael M.E. Johns, a former dean of the School of Medicine.


Kimberly Connolly, a junior, is one of 20 nursing students nationwide to be named a Fuld Fellow. The Fuld Fellowship program focuses on three goals: developing individual capacity for leadership, strengthening understanding of broader health care systems and providing a foundation for understanding the effects of public policy on health care delivery and nursing practice. Before pursuing a nursing degree at Hopkins, Connolly received a bachelor's degree in political science from Dickinson College and spent time in the Peace Corps, providing health education for mothers and their children in Niger, West Africa. After she graduates, Connolly plans to practice nursing overseas or in a rural area of the United States.

Public Health

D.A. Henderson, University Distinguished Service Professor, International Health, and dean emeritus of the school, was honored by the Joseph L. Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University, during its 75th anniversary celebrations, with the 1999 Frank A. Calderone Award.

Stephen Nurse, Renata Arrington and Michael Nnadi, all of the graduate program in health care administration, participated in the fourth annual Everett V. Fox Student Case Analysis and Presentation Competition held in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., in April.

The Center for Human Nutrition has announced the awarding of four prizes. Shih-Chen Chang, International Health, is to receive the 1999 Elsa Orent Keiles Fellowship in Human Nutrition; Victoria Gamino and Gromek Smolen, Biochemistry, will each receive the 1999 Harry Kruse Award in Nutrition; and Anuraj Shankar, assistant scientist, International Health, will be awarded the 1999 Harry Prebluda Fellowship in Nutritional Biochemistry.

The Alpha chapter's 1999 Delta Omega Scholarship recipients are Alison P. Klein, Epidemiology; Garrett L. Mehl, International Health; Thomas R. Ulrich, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology; Brad C. Astor, Epidemiology; Katarzyna Piech, International Health; Tomlin J. Paul, Epidemiology; and Hanh H. La, Epidemiology.