The Johns Hopkins Gazette: November 15, 1999
November 15, 1999
VOL. 29, NO. 12


For the Record:

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Keith Raney, member of the principal professional staff, Ocean Remote Sensing-SRO, has won the 1999 Gold Medal of the Canadian Remote Sensing Society for "significant contributions to remote sensing."

The Battle Force Area Program received an award for excellence from the Program Executive Office for Theater Surface Combatants for "delivery of a viable mission capability [AADC] to the U.S. 6th Fleet."

Arts and Sciences

John Barth, professor emeritus in The Writing Seminars, has received the Enoch Pratt Award for Lifetime Literary Achievement. The award is presented annually by the Enoch Pratt Society, a group of major donors to the Pratt Library. Barth is the author of nine novels, three volumes of short stories and novellas, and two volumes of essays and other nonfiction. The Floating Opera and Lost in the Funhouse were finalists for the National Book Award in fiction; Chimera won that award in 1973.

Pier Massimo Forni, professor in the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures, is the visiting scholar for fall 1999 at the Honors College of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Previous visiting scholars included novelist Chaim Potok, legal scholar Lani Guinier, Nobel laureate poet Derek Walcott and linguist/political observer Noam Chomsky. Forni will conduct the proceedings of the Visiting Scholar Program on Nov. 18.


Marc Donohue, associate dean for research, has been named the 1999 Maryland Chemist of the Year by the Maryland section of the American Chemists Society. He will receive the award at a ceremony at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in December.

David Harvey, professor of geography in the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering, will receive in January an honorary doctorate from Sweden's Uppsala University. Founded in 1477, Uppsala is the oldest university in the Nordic countries.

Health System

Don R. Martin, assistant professor of general medicine and rheumatology in the School of Medicine, has been appointed clinical director for International Patient Services. He will oversee all medical appointments of international patients at Hopkins Hospital, as well as treat many of them on their first visit.


Peter Agre, professor of biological chemistry, has been given the Homer W. Smith Award by the American Society of Nephrology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in nephrology research. Agre also is director of the graduate program in cellular and molecular medicine.

Nina Ossanna has been appointed director of the Office of Technology Licensing, taking over for Howard Califano, who recently was named head of Johns Hopkins Singapore. Ossanna has been associate director for the past four years.


Ringing in the new century early last month were the current and former directors of the Wilmer Eye Institute, Morton F. Goldberg and Arnall Patz, and Alfred Sommer, dean of the School of Public Health and a professor of ophthalmology, as they received special Millennium Awards that listed them among the 10 greatest living ophthalmologists selected by Ophthalmology Times.

Archie S. Golden, associate professor of pediatrics in the School of Medicine and former chief of pediatrics at Bayview, has been honored with a lifetime achievement award from the Maryland Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Golden retired from his Bayview position in June 1998 after a 14-year tenure; he continues to see patients and teach. Throughout his career, Golden has served as medical director at Project Hope in Trujillo, Peru, and Cartagena, Columbia, and also worked with Project Hope on the Navajo Indian Reservation in Ganado, Ariz.


Martha N. Hill, director of the Center for Nursing Research, was named one of the Reader's Digest 1999 Women's Health Heroes. Hill, who in 1997 became the first nurse to be elected president of the American Heart Association, was cited for her work in raising awareness about women and heart disease and was called a "cultural mechanic who is tuning up the health care machine to keep up with real-life trends."

Tennis Team Takes Top Spots in Post-Season Tourney

The Hopkins Health System once again fielded two 25-member teams in the Bankers/Insurance Doubles Tennis League. Competing against the major financial institutions and insurance companies in the Baltimore area, Hopkins players this year dominated the league, with one team finishing first in the Silver division and the other second in the Gold division. Organizers and team captains were Brad Bolster and Scott Walsh, both doctoral students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Harold Shinitzky, of the Department of Pediatrics Adolescent Clinic.

Individual team members also performed well in the post-season tournament, taking first place in all five events. Champions of the Men's I contest were Nate Fried (BME) and Mehrdad Hejazi (Pathology). Overall women's champions were Amy Cox (Rheumatology) and Maria Lin (Pharmacy SPH). The Men's II team of Perry Bridger (Radiology) and Gino Vista (Anesthesiology) were champions, and Peter Barker (Radiology) and Honglin Chen (Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences) finished second. The Men's III team of Jean-Michel Serfaty (Radiology) and Harold Shinitzky were champions, and Gerry Anderson (Health Policy and Management) and Brad Bolster finished second. Overall mixed champions were Ron Brasefield (Internal Audit) and Susan DeMuth (Fund for Johns Hopkins Medicine), with Amy Cox and Kevin Johnson (Pediatrics) finishing second.

For more information on the Hopkins tennis team, see .