The Johns Hopkins Gazette: April 17, 2000
April 17, 2000
VOL. 29, NO. 32


For The Record:

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.

Academic and Cultural Centers

Patrick O'Neall has been appointed director of development for the Sheridan Libraries. Previously he was director of development and alumni relations for the School of Nursing at the University of Maryland, Baltimore.

Arts and Sciences

Felicity J. Callard, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering, received one of 15 Dissertation Grants in Women's Studies awarded by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation to graduate students studying women's lives, history and literature. Her topic is "The Logic of Agoraphobia: Metropolitan Tales of Gender, Fear and Space from the 1870s to the 1990s."

Laura Totis is a winner of the state of Maryland's 17th annual Governor's Volunteer and Service Awards in the public safety category. Totis, a senior lab technician II, received the award for her work as the volunteer training director of the Rockville-based Mid-Atlantic DOGS, which trains dogs for search and rescue.


Joshua Mitchell, a senior majoring in biomedical engineering, was named OTC's Top Field Artillery Cadet in the Nation.

Michael D. Moyer has been promoted to associate dean for development and alumni relations. Moyer was previously director of development and alumni relations.


Marcia Lee Boyle has been named director of principal gifts for the Fund for Johns Hopkins Medicine. Boyle was director of development at the Wilmer Eye Institute.

Edward E. Cornwell, an associate professor of surgery, is a winner of the state of Maryland's 17th annual Governor's Volunteer and Service Awards. An advocate for the prevention of youth violence in America, Cornwell works with the Children's Defense Fund and Police Athletic League. He was recognized in the public safety category.

Joann Rodgers, deputy director of the Office of Communications and Public Affairs, has been named chair of the "Media Tools and Effects" session at the international Medicine and the Media symposium to be held Aug. 31 and Sept. 1 in Stockholm, Sweden. During the event, arranged by the Swedish Society of Medicine, Rodgers also will join former Journal of the American Medical Association editor George Lundberg and The Lancet's David McNamee in a discussion titled "Medicine in Media- -A Battle for Attention."

Morton F. Goldberg, director of the Wilmer Eye Institute, will receive the Mildred Weisenfeld Award for Excellence in Ophthalmology at the annual meeting in May of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. The award recognizes distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology. At the same meeting, ARVO will present its Special Recognition Award to Arthur M. Silverstein, professor emeritus of the history of science, medicine and technology, to honor his significant contributions and many years of dedicated service to ARVO's Fight for Sight grant review process.

At the recent annual meeting of the Regional Society of General Internal Medicine, Joseph Cofrancesco was chosen president-elect of the organization, and Redonda Miller was named secretary/treasurer-elect. Both are assistant professors of medicine. Also at the meeting, clinical fellow Jeanne Clark won the trainee research abstract award for her work on breast cancer and hormone replacement therapy.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education has awarded Dome, the JHM employee newspaper co-edited by Mary Ellen Miller and Mary Ann Ayd, a gold medal in the internal audience periodicals category of the 2000 CASE Circle of Excellence Awards. In the same competition, Change, the in-house faculty newsletter edited by Patrick Gilbert, took the silver medal.


Jacquelyn Campbell, Anna D. Wolf Professor and associate dean at the School of Nursing, was named to the Defense Task Force on Domestic Violence. The task force, announced by Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen, includes members from the departments of Defense, Justice, and Health and Human Services, and experts from the private sector.

The congressionally mandated task force will assess current domestic violence programs and policies within the Department of Defense and the military services and will formulate a long-term strategic plan to assist the department in eliminating domestic violence.

Campbell, who holds a joint appointment at the School of Public Health, is an internationally recognized researcher and scholar in the area of family and intimate partner violence. She has worked with shelters and policy-related committees on domestic violence for 20 years.

Victoria Mock, an associate professor and director of nursing research at the Oncology Center, has been appointed chair of the Fatigue Practice Guidelines Panel of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, an alliance of the leading U.S. cancer centers. Mock is the only nonphysician appointed to any of the network's 35 practice guidelines panels.

Public Health

Chris Beyrer, director of the Fogarty AIDS Program and associate scientist in the Department of Epidemiology, recently conducted a round table on Capitol Hill to brief members of Congress on his study of overland heroin trafficking and HIV in Asia.

Thaddeus K. Graczyk, an associate scientist in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, co-edited Echinostomes as Experimental Models for Biological Research (Kluwer Academic Publishers).

C. Alan Lyles, an assistant professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management, has been named a member of the editorial advisory board of the journal Clinical Therapeutics.

Jean Nachega, a research associate in the Department of International Health, will serve as a member of the American Committee on Clinical Tropical Medicine and Travelers' Health, a group of expert clinicians within the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. Nachega also was invited to serve on the American Board Examination Committee on Tropical Medicine and Travelers' Health.

Lisa M. Sacco, a graduate student at the Center for Human Nutrition, has received the 2000 Harry Kruse Award in Nutrition.

Kerry Schulze, a graduate student at the Center for Human Nutrition, has received the 2000 Harry J. Prebluda Fellowship in Nutritional Biochemistry.

University Administration

Ellen Keats Stifler has been named director of principal gifts for divisional programs in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations. She most recently was director of development for psychiatry and clinical neurosciences at JHM. Previously, she served as director of development for the Eisenhower Library.

Stephanie Reel has been named Chief Information Officer of the Year by the College of Healthcare Information Management Executives. Reel, CIO and vice provost for information technology for the university and also vice president for information services for JHM, received the award at the 2000 Annual Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society Conference and Exhibition, held earlier this month in Dallas.