The Johns Hopkins Gazette: September 3, 2002
September 3, 2002
VOL. 32, NO. 1



Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.

Bloomberg School of Public Health

Gregory E. Glass has been promoted to professor in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology.

Patricia J. O'Campo has been promoted to professor in the Department of Population and Family Health Sciences.

Kung-Yee Liang, a professor of biostatistics, has been elected an Academician of Academia Sinica, the Taiwanese equivalent of the National Academy of Sciences. Out of the only 225 members who have been elected in the 50-year history of the country's most prestigious scientific institution, only six have been statisticians and only one has ever preceded Liang as a member of the Life Sciences Division.

Johns Hopkins Medicine

Laurette Hankins has been named director of development for the Wilmer Eye Institute. Hankins was previously associate dean for development and alumni relations at the Peabody Institute.

Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Chung W. Kim has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

John W. Marshall has been promoted to professor in the Department of History.

William P. Minicozzi has been named to the J.J. Sylvester Professorship in the Department of Mathematics.

Nitze School of Advanced International Studies

Scott Rembold has been appointed director of development. He previously was director of development for the graduate school of education at George Washington University.

School of Medicine

Daniel E. Ford has been promoted to professor of medicine.

James E.K. Hildreth has been promoted to professor of pharmacology, with a secondary appointment in pathology.

Scott E. Kern has been promoted to professor of oncology, with a secondary appointment in pathology.

Alex L. Kolodkin, an associate professor in the Department of Neuroscience, has received a Kirsch Investigator Award to fund his research into mechanisms of neuronal guidance and regeneration. He will receive $200,000 over two years, and Hopkins will receive $40,000 over the same period. The Steven and Michele Kirsch Foundation's award program is in its third year. Geraldine Seydoux, an associate professor of molecular biology and genetics, was a 2001 winner and is receiving her second year of funding.

Francis P. Kuhajda has been promoted to professor of pathology, with a secondary appointment in oncology.

Victor A. McKusick, University Professor of Medical Genetics and a physician-scientist widely acknowledged as the father of genetic medicine, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Marfan Foundation at a reception held Aug. 1 in Baltimore. McKusick was honored for his vision and expertise in pioneering clinical care and research on the Marfan syndrome and for his inspiration and leadership in establishing the National Marfan Foundation.

Daniel Nyhan has been promoted to professor of anesthesiology.

Daniel P. Todes has been promoted to professor in the Department of History of Science, Medicine and Technology.

School of Nursing

Anne E. Belcher has been named senior associate dean for academic affairs.

Jacquelyn Campbell, associate dean of doctoral education programs and research, received the research award from the Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community.

Kay Cresci, an assistant professor, was inducted into the Sigma Phi Omega National Academic and Professional Society in Gerontology.

Sue K. Donaldson, a professor, has been named assistant editor and research columnist for the Journal of Professional Nursing for the 2002-2004 term.

Fannie Gaston-Johansson, Elsie M. Lawler Professor and director of international and extramural affairs, was presented the National Black Nurses Association's Trailblazer Award at the association's annual institute and conference in July. She also received a congressional citation from Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee.

Elizabeth Jordan, an instructor, was appointed to the National Practice Committee of the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses for the 2002-2003 session.

Christine Kasper, an associate professor, joined the steering committee of the Science Advisory Board, an international panel of more than 12,000 life science and medical professionals.

Miyong Kim, an assistant professor, was inducted as a commissioner on Baltimore City's Commission on Aging and Retirement Education.

Linda C. Pugh, associate professor and acting director of the Doctor of Nursing Science Program, was appointed to the editorial board of Outcomes Management.

Kathleen Hartman Sabatier, director of the Institute for Johns Hopkins Nursing, wrote an article titled "The Institute for Johns Hopkins Nursing: A Collaborative Model for Nursing Practice and Education" that appeared in the July/August issue of Nursing Education Perspectives, the journal of the National League for Nursing.

Deborah Wells has been named associate dean for development and alumni relations. She came to Johns Hopkins as senior director of development and associate campaign director in 2001.

University Administration

Gabrielle Bennett has been appointed director of development, Europe, for Johns Hopkins and its Bologna Center in Italy. She will be based in Cambridge, England. Previously, Bennett was development director for Downing College, Cambridge University.

B.J. Davisson has been promoted to senior director of gift planning. He will head the Johns Hopkins Office of Planned Giving, where he has been director of gift planning for five years.

Kate Erda has joined Johns Hopkins as director of the Office of Annual Giving. She previously was director of annual giving at the Harvard College Fund at Harvard University.

Whiting School of Engineering

Ralph Etienne-Cummings has been given conferral of tenure as associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.