The Johns Hopkins Gazette: June 24, 2002
June 24, 2002
VOL. 31, NO. 38


Staff Members Honored for 20 Years or More of Service

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

The university recognized long-term staff members and recent retirees from all divisions with a banquet and awards ceremony on the evening of June 2 at the O'Connor Recreation Center on the Homewood campus. Close to 300 staff members and guests attended the event, which honored 53 retirees and 213 long-term staff. A string duo from Peabody accompanied the celebration.

Following a wine reception and seated dinner, President William R. Brody congratulated and presented a service award to each honoree. Staff members celebrating landmark anniversaries of 20 years or more received awards of their choice that included Montreaux watches and clocks, a limited edition framed paper sculpture of Johns Hopkins' portrait or of the university seal, a framed collage of university scenes throughout the years or a framed certificate with a relief-sculptured medallion commemorating the university. All retiring staff members received a framed certificate of appreciation, and those with more than 25 years of service also received a Hopkins chair.

For her 55 years of service, Minnie Hargrow, the president's office assistant, received a unique gift: a handcrafted glass box whose lid featured a print of Martin Barry's well-known tinted engraving of Gilman Hall on one side and photos of the five presidents for whom Hargrove worked on the other. A similar box, whose lid paired a reproduction of Gilman Hall's university seal stained glass window and a portrait of a youthful Johns Hopkins, was awarded to Sidney Green of Plant Operations and Maintenance for his 45 years of service. Others who reach 45 years of service will be eligible to receive this award in the future.

In order to provide unique recognition gifts, the Office of Faculty, Staff and Retiree Programs commissions artwork and gift designs and periodically adds new choices. This year, new items were commissioned to honor individuals with 35, 40 and 45 years of service. Gift selections and additional information about the staff recognition program can be found at
--Caterina Provost-Smith

Bill Long and Kathy Long

President William R. Brody and Zuhair Kareem

Gina Wilt, Greg Wilt, Joyce Richardson and Van Basilia

Woody Day, Theresa Day, Michele Pass and Loretta Hawks

Cherita Hobbs, Herb Hansen, Wanda Carter and Betty Addison