Johns Hopkins Gazette | October 17, 2005
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University October 17, 2005 | Vol. 35 No. 7

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Applied Physics Laboratory

Duane W. Deal, a retired Air Force brigadier general, is the new director of National Security Space Programs. Deal's 29-year Air Force career included nine command positions, most recently as commander of operations at Cheyenne Mountain Air Station, Colo. An accomplished pilot, he has logged more than 2,200 hours in seven aircraft types, has space operations experience in missile warning and space control, and extensive aircraft maintenance and logistics experience. He also has led or participated in more than a dozen space launch and aircraft incident investigations, including the 2003 Columbia Accident Investigation Board. Deal has a bachelor's degree in physics and master's degrees in systems management and counseling/psychology.


Johns Hopkins Bayview

Dana K. Andersen has been appointed chief of surgical services. He comes to Bayview from the University of Massachusetts Medical School and UMass Memorial Health Care, where he was chairman of surgery. He is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and past president of the Association of Academic Surgery.


Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

During his tenure as interim dean, Adam Falk has named two faculty members to half-time, one-year positions in the Dean's Office, covering aspects of his other full-time job, dean of faculty. Krieger-Eisenhower Professor Gabrielle Spiegel, chair of the History Department, is serving as acting dean of faculty. Political science professor Steven David, a former associate dean, is serving as vice dean for centers and programs.


School of Medicine

Stephen B. Baylin, professor of medicine and oncology, chief of the Cancer Biology Division and associate director for research at the Kimmel Cancer Center, has received the 2005 Simon M. Shubitz Cancer Prize and Lectureship for excellence in cancer research.

Edward J. Bernacki, associate professor of medicine and director of the Division of Occupational Medicine, has received a $150,000 grant from the Andrew Family Charitable Foundation to fund an initiative to reduce illness and injuries among health care workers and patients.

John P. Gearhart, professor and chief of Pediatric Urology, has been awarded the Nicholas Stenning Visiting Professorship in Pediatric Surgery at the Royal Melbourne Children's Hospital in Melbourne, Australia. He also will be a consultant to the Australian National Health Service in its effort to create centers of excellence for infants born with major congenital defects.

Paula Pitha-Rowe, professor of oncology, molecular biology and genetics, has received the 2005 G.J. Mendel Honorary Medal of Merit in Biological Sciences from the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the biological and agricultural sciences.

Stephen T. Wegener, associate professor and director of Rehabilitation Psychology in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, has received the Essie Morgan Excellence Award from the American Association of Spinal Cord Injury Psychologists and Social Workers.

Chiming Wei, associate professor and director of the Cardiothoracic-Renal Molecular Research Program in the Department of Surgery, has been elected president of the American Academy of Nanomedicine.

Juan Garcia, assistant professor, received the Instructional Tone Award of Excellence and Ian Suk, also an assistant professor, was co-winner of the Instructional Color Award of Excellence at the 60th annual salon of the Association of Medical Illustrators. A combined seven Awards of Excellence and 10 Certificates of Merit were given to faculty, alumni and students of the Johns Hopkins Department of Art as Applied to Medicine.

Elizabeth Chen, assistant professor in the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, has received a Packard Foundation Fellowship for Science and Engineering for 2006. The award, for $625,000 over a five-year period, will fund her project titled "Molecular Mechanisms of Myoblast Fusion."

Nancy Roderer, interim director of the Division of Health Sciences Informatics, and director of the Welch Medical Library, has been elected to the American College of Medical Informatics. Roderer will be inducted into the college, which comprises fellows from the United States and abroad who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of medical informatics, at the organization's annual dinner, to be held Oct. 23.


School of Nursing

Jennifer Calhoun has joined the school as director of strategic initiatives. She previously worked with the University of Maryland and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.


School of Public Health

Barbara Starfield, university distinguished professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management with a joint appointment in the School of Medicine's Department of Pediatrics, was awarded the John G. Walsh Award for Lifetime Contributions to Family Medicine at the American Academy of Family Physicians' annual meeting, held recently in San Francisco. The award recognizes Starfield's "dedicated, long-term, effective leadership in advancing the development of family medicine." Internationally known for her work in primary care, Starfield was elected to the Institute of Medicine and was the co-founder and first president of the International Society for Equity in Health, a scientific organization devoted to equity in the distribution of health.


The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |