Johns Hopkins Gazette | September 19, 2005
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University September 19, 2005 | Vol. 35 No. 3

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Bayview Medical Center

Joe Carrese, associate professor of general internal medicine, has been named the first Blaustein Scholar in the Ethics of Clinical Practice and director of the new Ethics in Clinical Practice program at Johns Hopkins' Phoebe R. Berman Bioethics Institute. He will study the "epidemiology" of ethical issues that emerge in the daily practice of medicine and will design, implement and evaluate curricula addressing ethical issues in clinical practice.

Gerald Lazarus, professor of dermatology, has been elected a trustee of his alma mater, George Washington University.

Stephen Milner has been named chief of burn services at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center and surgical director of the Johns Hopkins Wound Healing Center, located at Bayview. He comes from the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, where he was a professor of surgery and director of Memorial Medical Center's regional burn center.

Michele A. Shermak, assistant professor of plastic surgery, has been appointed director of the Division of Plastic Surgery. A fellow of the American College of Surgeons, Shermak is known for her work with body-lifting procedures and with massive weight-loss patients.

Scott Wright, associate professor of internal medicine, has been named deputy director for medical education.


Centers and Affiliates

Lester Salamon, director of the Center for Civil Society Studies, has been named by The Nonprofit Times to its "Power & Influence Top 50" list for 2005.


Johns Hopkins Health System

Ronald Peterson, president of The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System and executive vice president of Johns Hopkins Medicine, has been named vice chairman of the board of the Maryland Hospital Association.


Johns Hopkins Medicine

Recently elected to the board of trustees are Janie Elizabeth Bailey, a third great-niece of Johns Hopkins and recently retired managing director of Credit Suisse First Boston; Robert C. Baker, chairman and CEO of National Realty & Development Corp.; Richard Berndt, managing partner of the Baltimore law firm Gallagher, Evelius & Jones; Philip Butterfield, CEO of the Bank of Bermuda; Richard Forsythe, president of Forsythe Technology; and Edward Gillespie, founder and principal of Quinn Gillespie and Associates.


Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Tobie S. Meyer-Fong, an assistant professor in the History Department, is a recipient of a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies, which this year made awards of more than $2.3 million to 60 scholars for postdoctoral research in the humanities and humanities-related social sciences. Meyer-Fong will write a monograph focusing on the strategies through which the state, local society and individuals made sense of China's Taiping Rebellion (1850-64), one of the most devastating civil wars in history.



Two Johns Hopkins students have been selected by the U.S. Institute of Peace as 2005-2006 Peace Scholar dissertation fellows. Each will receive a $20,000 stipend. Tova Norlen is a graduate student in the Conflict Management Program at SAIS; her research project is titled "Sacred Stones and Religious Nuts: Resolving Conflicts Over Absolute Sacred Space." A predoctoral fellow in the Krieger School's Department of Anthropology, Isaias Rojas-Perez will research "Law, National Reconciliation and Social Repair in Post-War Peru."


School of Medicine

Don Boswell, senior employment and compensation specialist in the Office of Human Resources, has been promoted to employment manager.

Edward Cornwell, chief of trauma surgery, has been named to the Junior Achievement of Central Maryland's Hall of Fame. The organization praised Cornwell's anti-violence work with the Police Athletic League and inner city youth.

Barbara DeLateur, professor and former chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, has been named Distinguished Service Professor.

Chien-fu Hung, assistant professor of pathology, has won one of four Young Investigator Awards from the Alliance for Cancer Gene Therapy. The award will fund a three-year research project into alternative treatment for ovarian cancer.

Gabor Kelen, professor and chairman of Emergency Medicine, has been elected president of the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine.

Guohua Li, professor of emergency medicine, has been awarded a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Jacek Mostwin, professor of urology, has been appointed director of the Physician and Society course. Cynthia Rand and Eric Bass, professors of medicine, will be associate directors.

Beth Murinson, assistant professor of neurology and director of pain education, has been awarded one of six Mayday Pain & Society Fellowships. Fellows learn how to connect with media, write editorials and communicate with legislators to further pain awareness.

Todd Cox, Paramjit Joshi, John Walkup and Thomas Wise, all of the Department of Psychiatry, were among the "Top Doctors" in the July issue of the Washingtonian magazine.


School of Nursing

Marguerite Littleton-Kearney, associate professor, is a member of one of the two American Red Cross medical assessment teams deployed by the ARC in response to Hurricane Katrina.

Jane Shivnan, assistant director of nursing at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, will serve as interim director of the Institute for Johns Hopkins Nursing. She also will serve as director of the Office of Global Nursing, a new initiative designed to position Johns Hopkins Nursing as a worldwide leader in nursing and health care.

Vicki Mock, Gayle Page and Maryann Fralic, all professors, have been elected to terms on the Academic Council. Mock and Page will serve for three years and Fralic for two, all beginning this month. Fralic replaces Marie Nolan, associate professor, who will now serve on the council as chair-elect of the Faculty Senate.


The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |