Johns Hopkins Gazette | August 22, 2005
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University August 22, 2005 | Vol. 34 No. 42

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Kimmel Cancer Center

Paula Pitha-Rowe, professor of oncology, has received the 2005 G.J. Mendel Honorary Medal for Merit in Biological Sciences from the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. Named after the founder of experimental genetics, Gregor Johann Mendel, the prestigious prize was established by the Czechoslavak Academy of Sciences in 1965 and is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions in the biological and agricultural sciences. Pitha-Rowe�s research focuses on the role of inflammation in cancer by studying the molecular mechanics governing the body�s natural response to infectious agents. Her lab�s findings have provided significant contributions toward understanding the molecular mechanisms of natural immune responses. Pitha-Rowe has a joint appointment in the School of Medicine in molecular biology and genetics.

Stephen B. Baylin, professor of medicine and oncology, chief of the Cancer Biology Division and associate director for research, has received the 2005 Simon M. Shubitz Cancer Prize and Lectureship awarded in honor of the late Simon Shubitz, a distinguished alumnus of the University of Chicago, given in recognition of excellence in cancer research. Baylin�s laboratory is credited for its pioneering research in DNA methylation in tumors, a process of molecular change in the DNA of cancer cells causing impaired function of important regulatory genes necessary for preventing the formation of tumors. By understanding how the abnormal DNA methylation arises and how the change leads to silencing of genes, it offers real promise for reversing the process as a cancer prevention or treatment strategy.


Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Lynn Johnson Langer, senior associate program chair of the Advanced Academic Programs� Biotechnology programs, has been appointed to the Maryland Governor�s Workforce Investment Board, Center for Industry Initiatives for the Biotechnology Industry.

Beverly J. Silver, professor in the Sociology Department, has received the American Sociological Association�s Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award for her book Forces of Labor: Workers� Movements and Globalization since 1870 (Cambridge University Press, 2003). This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years. The winner of this award gives the Sorokin Lecture at a meeting of a regional or state sociological association.


School of Medicine

Donald S. Coffey, professor of urology, has been presented with the St. Paul Medal, the highest award given by the British Association of Urological Surgeons. He received the honor at the organization�s recent annual meeting, which was held in Glasgow, Scotland.


School of Nursing

Lois Gould has been promoted to operations manager of the Institute for Johns Hopkins Nursing.

Dan Sheridan, assistant professor in Graduate Instruction, received a $249,000 subcontract grant from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid to write a Webbased project called Elder Abuse/Neglect National Curriculum for Surveyors. The overall $350,000 noncompeting project is being conducted collaboratively with the University of Maryland�s Center for Health Workforce Development.

Luis d�Andrade (accelerated �06), Sheramy Kahalas (traditional �06) and Nadia Irani (accelerated �06), were chosen as this year�s recipients of the JHUSoN  

The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 | [email protected]