Johns Hopkins Gazette | January 24, 2005
Gazette masthead
   About The Gazette Search Back Issues Contact Us    
The newspaper of The Johns Hopkins University January 24, 2005 | Vol. 34 No. 19

For the Record: Cheers

Cheers is a monthly listing of honors and awards received by faculty, staff and students plus recent appointments and promotions. Contributions must be submitted in writing and be accompanied by a phone number.


Mathematician Receives Japan's Order of the Sacred Treasure

Jun-ichi Igusa, professor emeritus in the Department of Mathematics, received one of his native country's highest honors — the Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon — at a private ceremony in his Baltimore County home recently.

Presented by Masaaki Tanino, the consul of the Consulate-General of Japan in New York, the award recognizes Igusa's contributions to the development of mathematics and to his role in cultivating scientific exchange between Japan and the United States.

The Order of the Sacred Treasure is Japan's second-highest civilian academic honor. Igusa was one of 10 to receive this award, which is usually presented in Tokyo by the Japanese prime minister and includes an audience with the emperor. Igusa was unable to travel to Japan at this time.

Christopher Sogge, chairman of the Department of Mathematics at Johns Hopkins, said the award was richly deserved.

"The Mathematics Department is thrilled that Professor Igusa received this great honor from Japan," Sogge said. "Professor Igusa had a long and distinguished career at Johns Hopkins. He was one of the pioneering researchers in number theory and algebraic geometry for the past 50 years. He also was a leader in theta functions, and his 1972 book on that topic remains an important resource for researchers. One of [his] recent notable accomplishments was the publication, in 2000, of his book An Introduction to the Theory of Local Zeta Functions."

Born in Japan, Igusa graduated from the University of Tokyo and served as a professor of mathematics at the University of Tsukuba before joining Johns Hopkins in 1955. In 1981, Igusa became director of the Japanese-American Mathematics Institute, which is located at Johns Hopkins and has been instrumental in forging interactions and collaborations between members of the Johns Hopkins Math Department and mathematicians from Japan and throughout the world. He also was editor in chief of American Journal of Mathematics, which is published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.


Bloomberg School of Public Health

Lawrence S. Wissow has been promoted to professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management.

Xiao-Fang Yu has been promoted to professor in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology.


Homewood Student Affairs

Joseph Menashe, Hillel director, has been recognized by Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life as a 2004 Richard M. Joel Exemplar of Excellence. The award recognizes Menashe's achievement in providing expanded services and support for students at Johns Hopkins since his arrival in 2000.


School of Medicine

Robert A. Brodsky has been appointed to the Edythe Harris Lucas and Clara Lucas Lynn Professorship in Medicine.

Edward E. Cornwell III has been promoted to professor in the Department of Surgery.

Chi V. Dang has been appointed to The Johns Hopkins Family Professorship for Oncology Research in the Department of Medicine.

Julie Freischlag, the William Stewart Halsted Professor and Director of the Department of Surgery and surgeon in chief of JHH, has been appointed editor of the Archives of Surgery, one of the JAMA/Archives journals published by the American Medical Association.

David D. Ginty has been promoted to professor in the Department of Neuroscience.

Lawrence M. Lichtenstein has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of Medicine, effective May 31.

Charles J. Lowenstein has been promoted to professor in the Department of Medicine.

Susan M. MacDonald has been promoted to professor in the Department of Medicine.

Risa B. Mann has been appointed professor emerita in the Department of Pathology.

Barry D. Nelkin has been promoted to professor in the Department of Oncology.

Terrence P. O'Brien has been promoted to professor in the Department of Ophthalmology.

Alan W. Partin has been appointed the David Hall McConnell Professor in the Department of Urology.

Geraldine Seydoux has been promoted to professor in the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics.

Kristy L. Weber, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery and oncology and chief of the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, has been appointed the Virginia M. and William Percy Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery.

Katherine L. Wilson has been promoted to professor in the Department of Cell Biology.

Wendy Wright, instructor in the Department of Neurology, has completed training at the American Academy of Neurology's Palatucci Advocacy Leadership Forum. She was one of 31 neurologists prepared by the forum to serve as advocacy leaders on vital local, state and federal neurology issues.


School of Nursing

Karen B. Haller has been promoted to professor on the practice education track.


The Gazette | The Johns Hopkins University | Suite 540 | 901 S. Bond St. | Baltimore, MD 21231 | 443-287-9900 |