Johns Hopkins Gazette: June 26, 1995


     'Cheers' recognizes achievement of consequence among
faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new
     We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by
a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity
and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be
published in the next 'Cheers'.

Honors, awards 
and appointments

Arts and Sciences

     Gregory Ball, an associate professor in the Department of
Psychology, has won the 1995 Raymond D. Fowler Award, presented
annually by the American Psychological Association of Graduate
Students. The award honors Ball's "outstanding contributions to
the professional development of students," according to the
association. He will officially receive the honor during a
ceremony Aug. 13 in New York City.

     John Holland, professor emeritus of social relations in the
Department of Psychology, has received an award for distinguished
professional contributions from the American Psychological
Association. The awards are presented to individual members of
the association whose distinguished contributions have served to
advance psychology as a profession.

Centers and affiliates

     Guy McKhann, director of the Krieger Mind/Brain Institute
and professor of neurology, has been selected by the National
Institutes of Health to serve on a 14-member panel of experts
concerning clinical research.

Continuing Studies

     Assistant Dean for Student Affairs Pam Cranston was elected
to a one-year term on the board of directors for the Girl Scouts
of Central Maryland. In the past, Cranston has served as a
volunteer trainer, troop leader and service management team
leader with the Central Maryland Council.

     Rosel Halle, director of the Montgomery County Center, was
elected to a one-year term as secretary of the Capital
Association of Women in Education, an organization that provides
programming, professional development and networking
opportunities for its members.

Homewood Student Affairs

     Eight lacrosse players made USILA All-America teams. Seniors
Terry Riordan and Brian Piccola were named to the first-team
attack, the second time in their careers that they have earned
first team All-America honors. Senior midfielder Peter Jacobs was
also named to the first team, after receiving second-team honors
as a junior. Junior midfielder Milford Marchant gained
second-team All-America recognition after being an honorable
mention pick the previous two seasons. Hopkins also had four
players earn honorable mention All-America recognition: junior
attackman Dave Marr, senior midfielder Casey Gordon, sophomore
defenseman Brian Kuezma and junior goalie Jonathan Marcus.


     Six individuals associated with the School of Medicine have
received American Heart Association-Maryland Affiliate research
grant-in-aid awards: Howard Silvermen, Daniel Pauley and
Jean-Pierre Benitah of the Division of Cardiology; Joan Bathon of
the Asthma and Allergy Center; Paul Bray of the Division of
Hematology; and Edgar Miller III of the Division of Internal

     Three faculty members have been awarded research grants from
the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and
Depression. Christopher Ross, associate professor of psychiatry
and neuroscience, received a $100,000 Established Investigator
award under a program that encourages experienced scientists to
devise and pursue innovative projects in mental illness research.
David Linden, assistant professor of neuroscience, and Collin
Stine, assistant professor of psychiatry, were each awarded a
two-year $60,000 Young Investigator grant.

     Richard Chaisson, associate professor of medicine and
director of the B. Frank Polk AIDS Unit, has been elected to a
two-year term, beginning in 1996, as chairman of the Assembly on
Microbiology, Tuberculosis and Pulmonary Infections of the
American Thoracic Society.

     Eugene de Juan Jr., professor of ophthalmology, has received
a special scholar's award from the Research to Prevent Blindness
organization. The award is being applied to de Juan's research at
the Wilmer Eye Institute devoted to developing a prosthetic
device to restore functional vision to patients whose blindness
results from degeneration of electrical impulses.

     Mei-Ling Tay-Kearney, a clinical fellow in ophthalmology,
has been given a Research to Prevent Blindness fellowship award
to pursue research on developing a screening test to identify
adults at high risk for cytomegalovirus retinitis.

     Patrick Walsh, professor and director of the Department of
Urology, has received the Barringer Medal from the American
Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. The medal is given for
outstanding contributions to the management of genitourinary


     Two university professors were recently elected to the
American Philosophical Society, a prestigious organization
founded by Benjamin Franklin more than 250 years ago. History
professor Philip Curtin of the School of Arts and Sciences and
oncology professor Bert Vogelstein of the School of Medicine were
among 46 new members of the society, which promotes useful
knowledge in the sciences and humanities through research,
meetings, publications and community service.

     The following individuals have been elected as university
trustees, with terms beginning July 1, 1995: Krishna Chow-dary,
of Allentown, Pa., a graduate student in physics, Carnegie Mellon
University, and a 1995 Johns Hopkins graduate, majoring in
physics; Mong-Joon Chung, adviser to Hyundai Heavy Industries in
South Korea, president of the Korea Football Association and head
of Korea's effort to win the 2002 World Cup in soccer. Chung
received his Ph.D. from the School of Advanced International
Studies in 1993; France Graage, of Washington, D.C., a former
Peabody Institute student and teacher and a member of its
advisory council; Richard Hochman, of New York, senior managing
director of Regent Capital Partners L.P. and a 1967 graduate;
Huntington Sheldon, of Shelburne, Vt., retired professor of
pathology at McGill University in Montreal and a 1956 graduate of
the School of Medicine.


     Karen Haller, associate professor of nursing and director of
nursing for medicine, was selected for the Johnson &
Johnson-Wharton Fellows Program in Management for Nurse


     Yuliya Gorenman, a doctoral candidate and student of Leon
Fleisher, won fourth prize for piano in the Queen Elisabeth of
Belgium International Music Competition in Brussels. The
competition, begun in 1937 by Queen Elisabeth, is considered one
of the top four international piano competitions along with the
Tchaikovsky, the Chopin and the Van Cliburn.

     The Peabody Preparatory's Russia Quartet has won third prize
in the Junior Division of the 1995 Fischoff National Chamber
Music Competition in South Bend, Ind., out of more than 50
competing ensembles from across the nation. Members Anna
Elashvili, Igor Yuzefovich, Rachel Shapiro and Ilya Levtov are
all part of the Arts for Talented Youth program at the Prep.

Public Health

     Barbara Starfield, professor of health policy and
management, has been awarded the Association for Health Services
Research 1995 Distinguished Investigator Award. The award
recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to
the field of health services research.

Changing places,             
new faces

     Maryann Fralic, vice president of nursing for the hospital,
has been appointed associate dean for the School of
Nursing/Hospital programs, where she will govern all joint
endeavors between the two organizations.

     Tim Downes, a former All-New England Lacrosse team player at
Dartmouth College, has been appointed associate director of
athletics, where he will oversee the program's compliance with
NCAA regulations and guidelines and handle the scheduling and
management of Hopkins athletic facilities.

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage