Johns Hopkins Gazette: May 13, 1996


Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards
and appointments

Arts and Sciences

John Baldwin, Charles Homer Haskins Professor of History, has been elected president of the Medieval Academy of America, and history professor Gabrielle Spiegel has been inducted as a fellow. The academy, founded in 1926, was one of the pioneering scholarly societies oriented toward interdisciplinary studies including the history, literature, languages and arts of the Middle Ages.

The Golden Key National Honor Society awarded junior biology major Zareen Mehreen Farukhi and senior psychology major Laura Katz scholarships during its annual membership induction on the Homewood campus. Farukhi was also the recipient of the Multicultural Student Academic Recognition Award. Honorary membership based on contributions to the community, university and its students was extended to Political Science chairman Steven David, visiting assistant professor of art history Megan Holmes, biology lecturer Robert Homer, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs director Ralph Johnson and Near Eastern Studies chairman P. Kyle McCarter Jr.

Philosophy professor Jerome Schneewind has been elected a fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Founded in 1780, the academy honors the country's leading figures from universities, government, business and the creative arts to exchange ideas and promote knowledge in the public interest.

Psychology professor Steven Yantis received a $35,000 Troland Research Award from the National Academy of Sciences for his research on visual attention, especially on the capture and the interactions between attention and perceptual organization.

Continuing Studies

Michael Rosenberg, professor and chairman of the Department of Special Education in the Division of Education, has received the most outstanding manuscript award from the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children.


Junior civil engineering major Christopher Brown received a scholarship from the American Concrete Association.

Junior biomedical engineering majors Paul DiCamillo and Irfan Qureshi have won Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Awards for the 1996-97 academic year. DiCamillo, along with senior civil engineering major Jared Lawrence, was also named to the GTE College Division Men's Academic All-District II At-Large Team. DiCamillo is a cross country runner and Lawrence is a soccer defenseman.

Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering graduate student Neil Durant won a 1996 graduate student award from the American Chemical Society's Division of Environmental Chemistry.

Senior biomedical engineering major John Elfar won a slot on the second team of USA Today's All USA College Academic Team. Elfar developed a mathematical model to assess research on the desensitization rate of recombinant NMDA channels in brain cells.

Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering graduate student Lai Gui is a co-winner of the 1996 ACS Agrochemicals Division Young Scientist Predoctoral Research Award. Gui was invited to present his research at a special recognition symposium held in New Orleans in March.

Biomedical engineering doctoral candidate Madi Lapidot received a certificate of merit from the Young Investigator Day Committee for her research on calcium signaling in vascular smooth muscle cells.

Math sciences professor Ed Scheinerman has been selected as an associate editor of the American Mathematical Monthly.

Research professor Eugene Shchukin, in the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering, received the title professor emeritus of the Moscow University.

Biomedical engineering professors Eric Young and Nitish Thakor have been elected fellows in the American Institute for Medical and Biomedical Engineers.

Materials Science and Engineering graduate student Todd Trimble has been chosen as one of the university's three Achievement Rewards for College Scientists scholars for the 1996-97 academic year. Trimble will receive over $11,000 for education-related expenses.


Professor of oncology and medicine Stephen Baylin has been named the first occupant of the Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professorship in Cancer Research.

Donald Coffey, professor of oncology, pharmacology and molecular sciences, and the Catherine Iola and J. Smith Michael Distinguished Professor of Urology, has been named president-elect of the American Association for Cancer Research.

Assistant professor of neuroscience Anirvan Ghosh has received a Sloan Research fellowship of $35,000 for a two-year period.


Peabody Preparatory faculty member and pianist Amy Lin has been selected as a Fulbright Scholar. She will spend next semester teaching and doing research at the University of Campinas in Sao Paolo, Brazil.

Public Health

Doctoral candidate in Health Policy and Management Gwendolyn Hammer recently received $10,000 from SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceutical company for her research on factors associated with hepatitis B vaccine acceptance among nursing home workers.

Doctoral candidate Laura Oaks has been awarded a Woodrow Wilson-Johnson & Johnson Dissertation Grant in Women's Health of $2,000 toward the completion of her dissertation, "Expert and Everyday Perceptions of Prenatal Health Risks: An Ethnography of Cigarette Smoking during Pregnancy in the United States."

Changing places,
new faces

Professor of medicine N. Franklin Adkinson Jr. will serve part-time as interim vice dean for research in the School of Medicine to ensure continuing high-level support for the school's research administration.

James Calvin has been named assistant professor and director of the Leadership Development Program for Minority Managers, a graduate-level certificate program offered by the Division of Business and Management in the School of Continuing Studies. Calvin will be responsible for management and curriculum planning for the LDP, as well as directing the school's Community Leadership Initiative with the Citizens Planning and Housing Association.

Acting dean Bonnie Wilson, in the Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, has been appointed associate dean for student affairs.

Elias Zerhouni, the Martin Donner Professor and director of the Department of Radiology in the School of Medicine, will serve part-time as interim dean for clinical practice. Zerhouni will assume responsibility for all administration and oversight of the Clinical Practice Association.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage