Johns Hopkins Gazette: April 21, 1997

For The Record:

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content.

Honors, awards
and appointments

Arts and Sciences

Chiadi Ndumele, a junior public health major and member of the undergraduate a cappella singing group The AllNighters, received an award for best male soloist in a male group for the year 1997 by the Contemporary A Cappella Society of America.

Centers and affiliates

Lester Salamon, director of the Institute for Policy Studies, was awarded the 1996 Distinguished Book Award by the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action. His book, Partners in Public Service: Government-Nonprofit Relations in the Modern Welfare State, was published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.

Central Administration

The university received two awards from Sallie Mae, the nation's largest single source of education loan funds. The first award recognized Student Financial Services' "Financing Worksheet," which answers students' frequently asked questions about financial aid. The second went to Student Employment and Payroll Services' annual student job fair, for bringing employment opportunities, prospective employers and pertinent employment information on campus to the students.

Homewood Student Affairs

Women's basketball head coach Nancy Blank was named the Women's Basketball Coaches Association District 4 Coach of the Year. Blank, in her 11th season at Homewood, has turned the Blue Jays into a national power. Under her guidance, Hopkins has won 20 or more games and reached the NCAA Tournament in each of the last three seasons, with one Centennial Conference title to its credit.

Matt Gorman, a senior biology major and basketball team co-captain, has received the Dr. William H. Howard Award, given each year to a senior who has excelled both as a scholar and an athlete.

Brian Kuczman, a senior psychology major and lacrosse team co-captain, has received the G. Gardner Mallonee Award, given each year to the senior male who has made the most outstanding contribution to athletics at the university.

Mary Ann McGuire, a senior political science major and captain of both the women's lacrosse and field hockey teams, has received the Catherine P. Cramer Award, given each year to the senior female who has made the most outstanding contribution to athletics at the university.

Shayn Peirce, a senior biomedical engineering and engineering mechanics major and co-captain of the 1996-97 women's swimming team, has received the Robert H. Scott Award, given each year to the senior who has demonstrated excellence in athletics, scholarship and extracurricular participation at the university.

Chris Rom, a senior political science major and three-year catcher for the men's baseball team, has received the Larry Goldfarb Award, given each year to a senior for outstanding service to the university's athletics program.

School of Nursing

Jacqueline Dienemann, associate professor of nursing systems management and care, has been reappointed as a member of the American Nurse Credentialing Center Commission on the Magnet Recognition Program.

Maryann Fralic, vice president for nursing at Johns Hopkins Hospital, was chosen to receive the 1997 Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing.

Assistant professor Cindy Rushton was elected for the second year as president of the Association for the Care of Children's Health.

Changing places,
new faces

Sandra Angell, assistant dean for academic and student support services in the School of Nursing, has been promoted to associate dean for academic and student support services as of July 1, 1996.

Patricia Grimm, assistant professor of psychosocial oncology/research in the School of Nursing, received a two-year continuation of appointment as the Mary Edna Busch American Cancer Society Professor of Oncology Nursing.

At the Dec. 9, 1996, meeting of the university board of trustees, Jay Brooks Jackson was appointed part-time professor of pathology, effective April 1, 1996.

Carey Kriz has been appointed special assistant to School of Medicine Dean Edward Miller.

Leonard Podgorski joins the Homewood campus as the new locksmith coordinator.

Steve Thompson has been appointed vice dean for administration in the School of Medicine, in addition to his previous duties as administrator in anesthesiology.

Christine White has been appointed assistant dean for medicine in the School of Medicine.

Elias Zerhouni has been appointed executive vice dean, vice dean for clinical affairs, president of the Clinical Practice Association and director of the Department of Radiology. Spending half-time in Radiology and half-time in the Dean's Office of the School of Medicine, Zerhouni will oversee clinical activities and help develop and execute strategies for Johns Hopkins Medicine.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage