Johns Hopkins Gazette: February 20, 1996


     Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of
consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some
promotions and new hires.
     We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by
a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity
and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be
published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards              
and appointments

     Jong-Shi Pang, professor of Mathematical Sciences, received
the 1994 Lanchester Prize for a book he wrote, The Linear
Complementarity Problem, with R.W. Cottle and R.E. Stone. The
Lanchester Prize is an international award given by the Institute
for Operations Research and Management Science for the best
published contributions in operations research in the English
language. Pang recently hosted an international conference on
complementarity problems at Homewood.

     Associate professor Jerilyn Allen was named the School of
Nursing's associate faculty editor for the Johns Hopkins Family
Health Reference. This project is expected to take approximately
two years.

     Professor Jacquelyn Campbell participated in a ceremony at
the White House where President Clinton announced $25 million in
grants to help  fight violence against women. She was also named
to the National Research Council/Institute of Medicine Committee
on the Assessment of Family Violence Interventions.

     Instructor Betty Jordan received the first District 4 Award
of Excellence in Practice from the Association of Women's Health,
Obstetrics and Neonatal Nurses.

     For their project called "Ethical Conflicts Facing Certified
Nephrology Nurses Practicing in Dialysis," Professor Barbara
Redman and associate professor Martha Hill received the 1995 CGH
Medical Inc. Research Grant from the American Nephrology Nurses

     Associate professor Ada Romaine-Davis was elected to
membership in the New York Academy of Sciences. She was also
recertified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as an
adult nurse practitioner.

     Instructor Jean Trotter and assistant professor Kathleen
Becker received the Shriver Center's Service-Learning Faculty
Development Grant, designed to promote integration of service
learning within curricula and academic programs and to establish
a consortium network of faculty members committed to the
development of service learning.

     Stella Shiber, associate dean of professional education
programs and practice nursing, has been named president-elect of
the Maryland Council of Directors of Diploma, Associate Degree
and Baccalaureate Nursing Programs.

Public Health
     Armenta Jones, administrative assistant at the school's
branch of the JHU Federal Credit Union, was honored with
WNUV-TV's "Proud and Positive" recognition for helping establish
the Saturday Academy at the St. John A.M.E. Church. The academy
teaches reading, writing and mathematics to students at Harlem
Park Middle School.

Changing places,           
new faces

     Elizabeth Cooper-Martin has been named assistant professor
and academic director of marketing programs for the Division of
Business and Management in the School of Continuing Studies. She
will be responsible for managing and designing curricula for the
Master of Science in Marketing and Master of Science in
Business/Marketing concentration, and she will also coordinate
marketing seminars and certificates.

     Martha D'Erasmo has been named president and CEO of the
Johns Hopkins Medical Services Corporation. She will be
responsible for the establishment of policy and the overall
management of JHMSC, which provides primary and secondary health
care services to approximately 100,000 people in Central

     Mary Ellen Fraser has been promoted to major gifts officer
in the development office at SAIS.

     Michelle Glassburn has been promoted to assistant director
of the School of Continuing Studies' Columbia Center.

     Laurette Hankins has been named director of development and
alumni relations at the Peabody Institute.

     Peggy King-Sears has been promoted to associate professor in
the Department of Special Education in the School of Continuing
Studies Division of Education.

     Michael Morsberger has been named senior associate director
of development at the Oncology Center.

     Michael Paulaitis has been appointed professor with tenure
and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering at the
Whiting School. Paulaitis is internationally recognized as one of
the few worldwide leaders in supercritical fluids.

     Cecile Pickart has been appointed professor of biochemistry
in the School of Public Health. Pickart is a leading researcher
in the area of ubiquitin-mediated proteolysis.

     Evita Sherman-Dixon has been named major gifts officer for
the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.

     Ellen Stifler has been named director of development for
psychiatry and clinical neurosciences at the Fund for Johns
Hopkins Medicine.

     Daren Thomas has been named major gifts officer at the
Whiting School of Engineering.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage