Johns Hopkins Gazette: February 18, 1997

For The Record:

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content. Items not included for reasons of space will be published in the next Cheers.

Honors, awards
and appointments

Arts and Sciences

Michael Beer, professor of biology and biophysics, and former governor William Donald Schaefer, visiting fellow at the Institute for Policy Studies, were among the honorees at the annual Save Our Streams banquet held Jan. 28. Beer was one of eight individuals and groups to receive the Stream Action Award for his restoration work at Stoney Run. Schaefer received the Living Streams award for 25 years of environmental leadership.

Kimberly Weaver, associate research scientist at the Center for Astrophysical Sciences in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was one of 60 young researchers named by President Clinton to receive the first annual Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. Each recipient will receive up to $500,000 over a five-year period.

Homewood Student Affairs

Six university athletes have been recently honored as University Athletic Association "Athletes of the Week," an award based on individual performances and contributions to team efforts.

They are junior Julie Anderson (twice) in women's basketball, freshman Emmanuel Job in men's swimming and diving, senior Suzanne Wallace in women's fencing, sophomore John Chang in men's fencing, junior Rocio Lopez in women's swimming and diving and junior Matt Johnson in men's swimming and diving.


Diane Becker, associate professor of medicine and director and founder of the Center for Health Promotion, has been named the 1997 Heart Ball honoree by the Maryland affiliate of the American Heart Association.

Harry Quigley, professor of ophthalmology and director of the Glaucoma Center and the Dana Center for Preventive Ophthalmology, has been named one of two winners of the 1996 Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize, awarded by the New York Academy of Medicine for the most outstanding glaucoma research work published during the previous year.

At the Bayview Medical Center, the Gastrointestinal Motility and Digestive Disorders Center has been named for its director, Marvin Schuster, professor of medicine and chief of gastroenterology.

Harvey Singer, professor of neurology, has been named the first Haller Professor of Pediatric Neurologic Diseases. The Haller chair was endowed by Virginia Haller to honor the medical contributions of her family and to foster clinical and laboratory research in pediatric neurological diseases.

Attending the Jan. 21 dedication of the chair were Edward Miller, dean of the School of Medicine and CEO of Hopkins Medicine; Richard Johnson, professor and chairman of neurology; Emily Haller, former professor of obstetrics and gynecology; J. Alex Haller, professor emeritus of pediatric surgery, pediatrics and emergency medicine; Singer; and university President William R. Brody.

Public Health

Dean Alfred Sommer is the 1997 president-elect of the Association of Schools of Public Health. Composed of faculty and administrators of all 27 accredited schools in the country, the ASPH represents their interests, particularly in relation to relevant federal legislation and interaction with federal agencies.

Changing places,
new faces

The Homewood Security Department has announced the arrival of officers Bennie Blair, Gary Patzman, Christine Rainsberger, Mark Tausendschoen, Richard Watts and communications assistant Miles Bolser.

Stephen Campbell has been appointed director, design and construction services, in the Office of Facilities and Real Estate.

Fred Hanna has been promoted to associate professor in the Department of Counseling and Human Services in the School of Continuing Studies, Division of Education.

James Scheulen, administrator for the Department of Emergency Medicine, has assumed additional responsibility with his appointment as director of Medical Transportation and Referral Services for Johns Hopkins Medicine.

--Compiled by Mike Field

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage