The Johns Hopkins Gazette: August 17, 1998
August 17, 1998
VOL. 27, NO. 42


For The Record

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

The Gazette welcomes contributions to Cheers submitted in writing and accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length and/or clarity.


Alvin Eaton, director of special programs in the director's office, has been named University Affiliated Research Centers senior intelligence officer in the Navy's Scientific and Technical Intelligence Officer Program, known as STILO. He will serve as APL's official point of contact with the intelligence community. Douglas Hudson has been appointed assistant director of special programs and will assist in coordinating STILO functions.

Marty Hall, of the Research and Technology Development Center, recently published a book, Core Web Programming, covering four core technologies used by Internet developers: HTML, Java, CGI and Javascript. Published by Prentice Hall, the 1,250-page book sold out of its initial printing of 9,000 copies in about two months.

David M. Silver, of the Research and Technology Development Center, has been awarded the 1998-99 J.H. Fitzgerald Dunning Professorship and will spend the coming academic year in the Department of Ophthalmology at the School of Medicine. He will study the fluid dynamics of problems of the eye, such as the formation of holes in the macular region of the retina, and will analyze blood flow through the eye.

John Smith, who is assigned to DARPA, has received the Office of the Secretary of Defense Award for outstanding achievement. Former DARPA director Larry Lynn nominated Smith for being "a pacesetter in bringing high-risk research ideas to fruition and [for] creating technological initiatives that promise to significantly enhance the defenses of the United States."

Chris Vogt, who is assigned to the Office of Naval Research's Naval Science Assistance Program, was recently named NSAP Science and Technology Advisor of the Year by Rear Adm. Paul Gaffney II, chief of naval research.

Arts and Sciences

Johanna Zacharias has been appointed director of communications, a new position. Zacharias, who began her career at Time Inc. in New York City, came to Hopkins in 1986, when she joined the startup staff of WJHU.

Centers and Affiliates

Lester M. Salamon, director, Institute for Policy Studies, has been named by The NonProfit Times as one of the 50 most influential people in the nonprofit sector. The list appears in the publication's August issue.


John H. van Zanten, assistant professor, Chemical Engineering, has been selected to participate in the National Academy of Engineering's Frontiers of Engineering symposium, to be held Sept. 17-19 in Irvine, Calif. The annual event brings together some of the nation's top engineers ranging in age from 30 to 45 to highlight leading-edge research and engineering developments.

Health System

John J. Carbone, a specialist in spine and trauma surgeries, has joined the Orthopaedics Department at Bayview Medical Center. Carbone comes to Bayview from Hopkins Hospital, where he was a member of the advanced surgical training program. His work focuses on the design and use of orthopedic implants and surgical instruments.

Mark Hopkins is the new senior director of information services and physician operations at Bayview. Doug Hall, director of ambulatory services, assumes responsibility for access services.

Homewood Student Services

The College Sports Information Directors of America awarded a citation of excellence to Johns Hopkins for its 1997-98 women's lacrosse brochure, which was judged best in the nation in the Single Sport Brochures/Division B-C contest. Larry Napolitano, Ernie LaRossa and Andy Bilello were responsible for the publication.

William Smedick, director of student activities at Homewood, is serving as chair of the 1998-99 board of directors of the National Association for Campus Activities.


The Association of Medical Illustrators honored two faculty members at the recent AMI annual conference in Toronto. Juan Garcia received the Max Brodel Award of Excellence in the medical tone category, and Michael Linkinhoker, a Certificate of Merit in the medical color category. Student Awards of Excellence went to William Scavone and Lianne Kruegger Sullivan and Student Certificates of Merit to Jennifer Fairman, Kenneth Heyman and Jennifer Parsons.

Jeremy Walston has been named a recipient of a 1998-2001 Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program award. The three-year $450,000 grant is awarded to 10 physician-scholars each year by the American Federation for Aging Research. It is the nation's largest non-governmental prize for researchers in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology.


Maryann F. Fralic has joined the faculty part time and has been named director of corporate and foundation relations.

Public Health

"Following ER," a weekly television news segment about health that is produced by Rachel MacKnight, the coordinator of the project, and Lisbeth Pettengill, director, Public Affairs, has won both the Crystal Award of Excellence in the 1998 Communicator Awards competition and a Gold Award from the University and College Designers Association for its Web site. The segment, which airs after the program ER on more than 40 news broadcasts around the country, was also chosen for the Council on Foundations' 1998 Film and Video Festival and was a finalist for the Public Relations Society Association's Best in Maryland award.

At the 40th annual meeting in June of the American Association for the Study of Headache, Ann Scher, a doctoral student in epidemiology, was awarded the AASH Harold G. Wolff Award for significant contributions to the understanding of headache.

Leiyu Shi, associate professor, Health Policy and Management, is the co-author of a new textbook, Delivering Health Care in America: A Systems Approach, which attempts to boil down the complexity of the U.S. health services system into some basic principles that can be mastered by students of health administration.

Mei-Cheng Wang, associate professor, Biostatistics, was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association in a presentation ceremony in August. Wang was recognized for influential contributions to research in truncation and sampling-bias models and for editorial and professional service.