Johns Hopkins Gazette: November 4, 1996 Form

Committee Seeks
Names For
Nationwide Search

Nominations sought
for top candidates
to succeed Knapp as
dean of Arts & Sciences

The committee formed to search for a new dean of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences is asking for help in recruiting candidates.

"We're hoping faculty from around the university will come forward with suggestions and nominations and will draw on their contacts across the nation," said Provost Steven Knapp, who is chairing the search.

"We want to move quickly," Knapp said. "We've had our first meeting already, and we'll be very active in coming months in an effort to identify a strong pool of candidates and then to recommend a small number" of finalists to President William R. Brody.

Knapp said nominations may be sent directly to him or to Vice Provost Steve McClain in the Provost's Office, 265 Garland Hall, Homewood.

Knapp has been dean of the Krieger School since 1994. He was appointed last month as provost, a post he had filled on an interim basis since January. He will remain as dean until the search concludes with the appointment of his successor.

"We are confident we can find a candidate who will not only work hard to preserve the academic excellence of the School of Arts and Sciences, but who will also help the school continue to grow in important new directions," Knapp said.

The search committee includes 10 faculty from Arts and Sciences, faculty from Engineering, Peabody and Public Health, and both undergraduate and graduate student representatives.

"We've identified a committee that is very strong and broadly representative of faculty and students from Arts and Sciences and that also brings in representation from several of the divisions in the university that work closely with Arts and Sciences," Knapp said.

The members of the committee are Betsy Bryan, professor of Near Eastern studies; Howard Egeth, chairman of the Psychology Department; Paul Feldman, chairman of the Physics and Astronomy Department; Cory Hayman, graduate student in sociology; Franklin Knight, professor of history; Louis Maccini, chairman of the Economics Department; Valerie Marchi, a junior biology major; Bruce Marsh, professor of earth and planetary sciences; Richard McCarty, chairman of the Biology Department; Jean-Pierre Meyer, professor of mathematics; Charles O'Melia, professor of geography and environmental engineering in the School of Engineering; Giulia Sissa, chairwoman of the Classics Department; Eileen Soskin, faculty member at the Peabody Institute; Daniel Weiss, associate professor of the history of art; and Scott Zeger, chairman of the Department of Biostatistics at the School of Hygiene and Public Health.

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage