Johns Hopkins Gazette: October 20, 1997

For The Record

Once each month, Cheers recognizes achievement of consequence among faculty, staff and students, as well as some promotions and new hires.

We welcome contributions submitted in writing accompanied by a telephone number. Submissions may be edited for length, clarity and content.

Honors, awards
& appointments

Alumni Affairs

Peter J. Ticconi Jr. has been appointed senior planned giving adviser in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations for the Johns Hopkins Institutions. He will oversee planned giving strategies, especially as they relate to principal gifts.

Arts and Sciences

Sidney Mintz, founder of the university's Anthropology Department, has been appointed professor emeritus.

Central Administration

University President William R. Brody has joined the governing committee of The Whitaker Foundation, which in 1996 approved a total of more than $43 million in new funding, $38.4 million of which went to biomedical engineering. The governing committee is responsible for all the foundation's funding decisions.


M. Gordon "Reds" Wolman will receive the American Geological Institute's most prestigious award, the Ian Campbell Medal, at the eighth annual meeting of the Geological Society of America in Salt Lake City on Oct. 21. Wolman's work has provided much of the basis for current national science policy, addressing issues of natural and human-influenced fluvial systems.

Professor Bruce Ellingwood has been appointed to the Willard and Lillian Hackerman Chair in the Department of Civil Engineering.


R. Robinson Baker has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of Surgery.

John R. Burton will receive the Physician of the Year Award from the National Association for Home Care. The award recognizes a physician who has excelled in promoting and using home care and hospice services. Burton is clinical director of geriatrics and director of gerontology at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center and Mason F. Lord Professor in the School of Medicine.

Bart Chernow has been named vice dean of research, technology and corporate relations for the School of Medicine. Currently, Chernow is professor of medicine and of anesthesiology and critical care medicine at Hopkins, program director of the Johns Hopkins University/Sinai Hospital program in internal medicine, and physician-in-chief at Sinai.

Janice E. Hedblom has been named chair of the United Way of Central Maryland's Certification Committee. The committee is composed of volunteers with expertise to evaluate the organizational, program and financial effectiveness of all new and participating United Way community agencies. Hedblom is director of Social Work in the Department of Psychiatry.

David B. Hellman of the Department of Medicine has been appointed to the Mary Betty Stevens Professorship of Rheumatology.

William M. Kent has been promoted to the position of executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Johns Hopkins Medical Services Corp. For two and a half years he served as MSC's vice president for clinical operations.

Raymond E. Lenhard Jr. has been appointed professor emeritus of oncology and medicine.

Professor David M. Levine has been appointed to the Samsung Chair in the Department of Medicine.

Nancy Hadley Miller has been appointed to the Lewis Cass Spencer Chair in the Department of Orthopedic Surgery.

Daniele Rigamonti has been promoted to professor of neurological surgery.

Jesse Roth, director of the Division of Geriatric Medicine, has been appointed to the Raymond and Anna Lubin Professorship in Medicine.

Christoph Stein has been promoted to professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine.

Michael A. Thompson has been appointed to the new position of vice president of managed care for Johns Hopkins Medicine. He will provide the overall guidance to manage the infrastructure necessary in an environment increasingly dominated by managed care.


Ron Brookmeyer (Public Health, Biostatistics), Jesse Roth (Bayview, Geriatric medicine and Gerontology) and Howard H. Seliger (Arts and Sciences, Biology) were awarded the distinction of fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They were selected because of their efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.


Associate professor Christine E. Kasper has been appointed to the M. Adelaide Nutting Chair at the School of Nursing. Kasper is an expert in muscle adaptation and development.

Public Health

Josephine A. Boyington, a doctoral student in the School of Public Health, is the recipient of the M. Elizabeth Carnegie and the Liesel M. Hiemenz Scholarship awards. The award, part of the Nurses Educational Funds scholarship program, includes $4,500 for doctoral studies.

Jacqueline Corn has been appointed associate professor emerita of environmental studies.

Morton Corn has been appointed professor emeritus of environmental studies.

Mark C. Steinhoff has been promoted to professor in the Department of International Health.

William W. Wright has been promoted to professor in the Department of Population Dynamics.


W. Max Corden, Chung Ju Yung Professor of International Economics, has been elected a fellow of the British Academy.

Go back to Previous Page

Go to Gazette Homepage