Johns Hopkins Gazette: October 20, 1997

Johns Hopkins
Associates Recognized
For Effort

Leadership weekend:
600 alumni, friends
celebrate third anniversary

It was a festive evening Sept. 27 at the Baltimore Convention Center as nearly 600 alumni and friends of Johns Hopkins gathered to celebrate the third anniversary of the public phase of the Johns Hopkins Initiative campaign and to honor the Johns Hopkins Associates.

The gala dinner was part of Johns Hopkins Leadership Weekend, which included meetings of the trustees as well as some two dozen advisory boards and other advocate groups of the university, its divisions, and the hospital and the health system.

Michael R. Bloomberg, chairman of the university board of trustees, served as master of ceremonies for the gala, which included recognition of recent leadership gifts to the campaign; Baltimore Bicentennial greetings from Mayor Kurt Schmoke; remarks by university President William R. Brody; and performances by students from the Peabody Prep and the Peabody Conservatory.

Trustee Connie Caplan, chair of the Associates, paid tribute to the members, whose annual donations of $2,000 or more are critical to Hopkins' mission in teaching, research and patient care. During the past fiscal year, a record-breaking 1,757 members hailed from 45 states and 21 countries.

Bloomberg, along with campaign co-chairs Lenox D. Baker Jr. and R. Champlin Sheridan, called upon donors or representatives of outstanding gifts to stand and be recognized:

  • Becton Dickinson and Company: $750,000 to the School of Public Health to transform the school's original auditorium into a worldwide resource for distance education.

  • Phoebe Berman: $5 million to establish an endowment for the Johns Hopkins Bioethics Institute.

  • The estate of Ray R. and Laura H. Conner: more than $1.5 million to establish a professorship in the Department of Pediatrics for the director of the Harriet Lane Primary Care Clinic.

  • William Thomas Gerrard: a commitment to create the William Thomas Gerrard, Mario Anthony Duhon, and Jennifer and John Chalsty Professorship in Urology--a gift that honors physicians Patrick Walsh and William Isaacs for their dedication to research on hereditary prostate cancer.

  • The Morris Goldseker Foundation of Maryland: $1 million for undergraduate scholarships for students from the Baltimore metropolitan area.

  • Catherine Iola Michael, along with her late husband J. Smith Michael: more than $5 million for the Brady Urological Institute, including creation of a Distinguished Professorship in Urology.

  • The estate and trust of Sylvia Nachlas: over $2 million for student aid in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and the Peabody Conservatory, and for research in the School of Medicine.

  • Morris W. and Nancy Offit: $3 million toward the Krieger School's Center for the Study of American Government, in Washington, D.C.

  • The Herman and Walter Samuelson Foundation: $750,000 to the Oncology Center to create a fellowship in childhood cancer research.

  • Monroe and Roslyn Sarezky: over $1 million to establish an unrestricted fund in support of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.

  • Virginia and Abraham Weiss: $500,000 to endow a fellowship in the Division of Cardiology to fund young investigators' research in molecular cardiology.

    Go back to Previous Page

    Go to Gazette Homepage