Headlines at Hopkins: news releases from across
university Headlines
News by Topic: news releases organized by
subject News by Topic
News by School: news releases organized by the 
university's 9 schools & divisions News by School
Events Open to the Public (campus-wide) Events Open
to the Public
Blue Jay Sports: Hopkins Athletic Center Blue Jay Sports
Search News Site Search the Site

Contacting the News Staff: directory of
press officers Contacting
News Staff
Receive News Via Email (listservs) Receive News
Via Email
RSS News Feeds RSS News Feeds
Resources for Journalists Resources for Journalists

Virtually Live@Hopkins: audio and video news Virtually
Hopkins in the News: news clips about Hopkins Hopkins in
the News

Faculty Experts: searchable resource organized by 
topic Faculty Experts
Faculty and Administrator Photos Faculty and
Faculty with Homepages Faculty with Homepages

JHUNIVERSE Homepage JHUniverse Homepage
Headlines at Hopkins
News Release

Office of News and Information
Johns Hopkins University
901 South Bond Street, Suite 540
Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Phone: 443-287-9960 | Fax: 443-287-9920

September 20, 2006
CONTACT: Lisa De Nike
(443) 287-9960

Johns Hopkins Astrophysicist Wins
2006 Harvey Prize
Charles L. Bennett
Charles L. Bennett

Johns Hopkins University astrophysicist Charles L. Bennett has been awarded the 2006 Harvey Prize, given annually by the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology for breakthroughs in science and technology, human health or peace.

Bennett, a professor since 2005 in the university's Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy, will receive the prestigious prize Jan. 25 at the Technion, a premier science and technology university in Haifa, Israel. He is the second Johns Hopkins faculty member to win the award since it was established in 1972.

Bennett is being honored for significantly contributing to knowledge of cosmology through pioneering measurements of the Cosmic Microwave Background. Initial groundbreaking work using NASA's Cosmic Background Explorer satellite was followed by his leadership of NASA's Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe project, which led to the precise determination of the age, composition and curvature of the universe.

The Harvey Prize is given without regard to nationality, race, religion or sex, and consists of a cash award of $75,000 and the opportunity to lecture at the Technion. Ten Harvey Prize winners have gone on to win Nobel Prizes, including former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev.

The prize honors the late Leo M. Harvey of Los Angeles, who, through hard work and creativity, rose from origins as the son of a small Lithuanian factory owner to become head of the international Harvey Aluminum Co., which provided metal alloys to the aerospace industry.

Bennett said he is honored to be associated with Harvey's legacy.

"I am very grateful to my wonderful colleagues; it continues to be a great pleasure to work together with them to advance our knowledge of the universe," Bennett said. "I also thank my family for their love and support."

Bennett and his team made international news in 2003, when they announced their determination of the age of the universe at 13.7 billion years. They also calculated the makeup of the universe as 73 percent dark energy, 23 percent dark matter and 4 percent ordinary matter. The dark energy and dark matter remain mysteries to this day, so Bennett is leading a new effort to determine the nature of the dark energy.

In March 2006, Bennett's Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe team announced that the universe bears signs that it expanded from quantum fluctuations to astronomical size within its first trillionth of a second of existence. The finding, based on data from WMAP, supports a 20-year-old theory known as "inflation," which describes how the cosmos grew suddenly from the subatomic to a vast expanse of stars and galaxies.

Bennett was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2005 and was named winner that year of the academy's Henry Draper Medal, given once every four years to an honoree who has made significant contributions to astronomical physics. The third Draper Medal was awarded in 1890 to Henry Rowland, for whom Johns Hopkins University's Department of Physics and Astronomy is named.

Bennett's Harvey Prize comes five years after the first awarded to a Johns Hopkins scientist. In 2001, Bert Vogelstein, Clayton Professor of Oncology and Pathology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, won in recognition of his research establishing a detailed genetic model of colorectal cancer.

Related Web Links
Bennett's Web site
Harvey Prize/Technion Web site

Color photos of Bennett are available. Contact Lisa De Nike at Lde@jhu.edu or by calling 443-287-9960.

Johns Hopkins University news releases can be found on the World Wide Web at http://www.jhu.edu/news_info/news/
   Information on automatic e-mail delivery of science and medical news releases is available at the same address.

arrow Go to Headlines@HopkinsHome Page