Headlines at Hopkins
News Release

Office of News and Information
Johns Hopkins University
901 South Bond Street, Suite 540
Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Phone: 443-287-9960 | Fax: 443-287-9920

April 16, 2008
CONTACT: Dennis O'Shea

Presidential Search Committee Appointed

Pamela P. Flaherty, chair of The Johns Hopkins University's board of trustees, on April 11 announced in a message to the university community the formation of a committee to search for the university's next president. The text of her message follows:

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students:

I am pleased to announce the membership of the presidential search committee, which is charged with identifying a worthy successor to President Bill Brody.

Appointing a president is the legal responsibility of the board of trustees, and it is the most important of all of the board's fiduciary responsibilities. Trustees, therefore, constitute the majority of the committee.

Because we are an academic community, however, and because the perspectives of the entire community are highly relevant to our deliberations, the committee includes two faculty members, a graduate student, an undergraduate student, and a staff member. In addition, four of the trustee members are also alumni. Together, the thirteen diverse members bring to the committee a broad understanding of the university as a whole as well as knowledge of specific schools or constituencies within Johns Hopkins. No matter what their affiliation, however, search committee members are charged with serving the interests of the entire institution by recruiting the very best leader we can find.

The trustees who will serve on the presidential search committee are:

♦ Pamela P. Flaherty, SAIS 68, chair of the board of trustees, chair of the presidential search committee, president and CEO, Citi Foundation, New York, N.Y.
♦ George L. Bunting, Jr., president, The Bunting Management Group, Hunt Valley, Md.
♦ Francis B. Burch Jr., Esq., co-CEO, DLA Piper LLP, Baltimore, Md.
♦ N. Anthony Coles, M.D., A&S 82, president and CEO, Onyx Pharmaceuticals Inc., Emeryville, Calif.
♦ Richard S. Frary, A&S 69, President, Tallwood Associates Inc., New York, N.Y.
♦ Stuart S. Janney III, chairman, Bessemer Trust Co., New York, N.Y.
♦ Gail J. McGovern, A&S 74, President, American Red Cross, Washington, DC.
♦ Brian C. Rogers, chairman, T. Rowe Price Group, Baltimore, Md.

In addition to being trustees of the university, Messrs. Bunting, Burch and Janney serve on the board of Johns Hopkins Medicine, as do I.

Other members of the search committee are:

♦ Jameel Freeman, associate director of Homewood undergraduate admissions. Mr. Freeman's recruitment territories include Maryland, the District of Columbia and West Virginia. In addition to coordinating the diversity efforts for the Office of Undergraduate Admissions, he also works closely with the Baltimore Scholars Program, which involves significant interaction with the Baltimore City Public Schools.

♦ M. Diane E. Griffin, M.D., Ph.D., Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Bloomberg School of Public Health, and, until recently, director of the Malaria Research Institute. Dr. Griffin, who is a leader in viral disease research and a member of the Institute of Medicine, also holds appointments in the departments of Medicine and Neurology in the School of Medicine.

♦ Kurt R. Herzer, a junior undergraduate student at Homewood and native of Long Island, N.Y. A 2008 Truman Scholar and a Woodrow Wilson Fellow, Mr. Herzer's research focuses on patient safety and quality improvement both nationally and internationally. He has served on the university-wide Diversity Leadership Council, reflecting his interest in diversity issues and students with disabilities.

♦ Joseph Katz, Ph.D., William F. Ward Sr. Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering. Dr. Katz is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and Technical Editor of the Journal of Fluids Engineering. He has received several awards, including the ASME Fluids Engineering Award.

♦ Tam Nguyen, a second-year Ph.D. student in the School of Nursing, who comes from California. Ms. Nguyen's research focuses on health disparities, particularly those seen in the Asian American community, with an emphasis on Vietnamese-Americans. In 2006, she completed a joint master's degree program in the School of Nursing and the Bloomberg School of Public Health.

The committee will consult widely with members of the university community. If you would like to send your comments or suggestions to the committee, you may continue to use the presidential search committee mailbox: pressearch@jhu.edu. While the volume of mail that is coming into the box makes it impossible to respond individually, all of the messages are being collated and shared with the search committee.

I look forward to working with members of the Johns Hopkins community in this vitally important endeavor.


Pamela P. Flaherty, SAIS '68
Chair of the Board of Trustees
Chair of the Presidential Search Committee