The Johns Hopkins Gazette: June 9, 2003
June 9, 2003
VOL. 32, NO. 37


Long-term Staff and Recent Retirees Honored with Banquet

Johns Hopkins Gazette Online Edition

The university recognized staff members with 20 or more years of service, as well as those retiring during the 2003 fiscal year, with a banquet and awards ceremony held Tuesday evening, June 3, in the Robert Scott Gymnasium at the O'Connor Recreation Center at Homewood. After guests mingled at a wine and hors d'oeuvres reception, a curtain was raised to reveal a glittering banquet hall set for a formal dinner. With draped walls and a covered floor, floral centerpieces, gold platters and crystal stemware, the room was no longer recognizable as a gym. According to one guest, "It was like a fairy tale--really breathtaking."

Following the dinner, university President William R. Brody congratulated and presented service awards to each honoree. Staff members celebrating landmark anniversaries of 20 years or more received awards ranging from a Johns Hopkins watch to a cherry wood box inlaid with a bronze Johns Hopkins seal. Retiring staff members received certificates of appreciation, and those retiring with more than 25 years of service had a choice of a Johns Hopkins rocking chair or captain's chair, or a framed certificate with a bronze commemorative medalion.

Approximately 280 staff members, guests and university VIPs attended the dinner, which honored 51 retirees and 221 long-term staff. At the end of the celebration, Minnie Hargrow, affectionately known as Ms. Minnie, who is special assistant to President Brody, received a spontaneous standing ovation for her 56 years of service to the university.

The Office of Faculty, Staff and Retiree Programs is responsible for the university's staff recognition program. More information on the program is available on the Web at or by calling Judy Peregoff at 410-516-6060.
--Caterina Provost-Smith

The transformed Robert Scott Gymnasium awaits honorees.

Donna Serdehely, Michael Serdehely, Rudolph Chapple and Monica Chapple.

Sandra Lund, Andrea McCracken and Marcia Lyons.

Vernon Jones and Armeneta Jones.

Edward Pajak, Dave Flumbaum and Alice Flumbaum.

Seated: Connie Knapik and Walter Knapik. Standing: Sylvia Lee, Joanne Hullihen and Dawn Wolfe.

Carol Ann Buckley, Peggylee Bremer, Melissa Ann Horn and Lenora Davis.

Mabel Chiu and Margit Lucskay.

Gerry Levin and Francie Levin.

Eulah Tooles and Robert Tooles.